We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Hawk Air Private Seaplane Charters

Sea Hawk Air Private Seaplane Charters
506 Trident Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Activities in Kodiak Island
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our pilot/guide knew where to find the bears and other wildlife and gave us an incredible experience! The owner/operator, Russ, has a "Beaver", a 5 passenger seaplane with an oversized engine, for a smooth and flawless trip. He stays in contact with the local fishermen and tour guides to keep track of the locations of whales, bears and other animals in the wild, allowing for great views from the air and on the ground. Most of the time we were on Kenai for this early June trip, when bears are harder to find (prior to the salmon runs). We were able to view the bears up close, often as close as 60 feet, while they dug for clams and chased each other as part of mating rituals. 5 stars! Great lunch was included, on the beach.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Frazier Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have been to Kodiak twice and both times we went with SeaHawk to watch bears at Frazier Lake. We built in a couple of extra days in our visit because we were warned that if weather conditions are bad, they won't fly. It was good we did the first time because, indeed, our original trek was rain and fogged out. However, the owners are very interested in helping you get another chance at the excursion and we had no problem rescheduling. The flight to Frazier Lake is very scenic. This island is green beyond words.

Upon arriving at the lake you take a hike up the hillside to the overlook at the fish pass. It is a man made fish ladder that allows the salmon to go upstream. Even though my husband and I walk nearly every day, the hike, while not lengthy distsance wise, was somewhat difficult because you are using a narrow trail full of ruts left by four wheel drive vehicles used by rangers and students doing research. The ground is very uneven to walk on and the first time there, my husband was just 6 weeks post knee surgery so it was very difficult to keep up with the group. Our guide for that first trip was Larry Van Daele who is quite renowned in the area as a bear expert and has been on television on travel and discovery shows discussing the bears in the area. The second time our guide was the plane pilot Rolan. Both were very knowledgeable, answered all questions and sincerely wanted us to enjoy our trip. The first time, we were sitting on the ground overlooking the fishing bears when two sows with cubs got into a dispute. One sow ended up chasing the other mother's cub up the hill directly at us. They were within about 10 feet (!!) and nearly plowed through our little group. Larry calmly stood in the path of the charging bears and simply said "no more" to them. They stopped turned and went down the hill where the moms sorted out their cubs and after some additional trash talk, went their separate ways.
I can't say our second trip was as exciting, however, it was just as satisfying.

I also have to say that you get a lunch served on the plane on the return trip. Although it is a little difficult to eat in such cramped quarters, the lunch was excellent. Ham, turkey, or roast beef sandwiches, a huge cookie, cole slaw, macaroni or potato salad, a candy bar and watermelon. Delicious and welcome after the hike and bear viewintg. Better food than we got on the jet we flew on from the lower 48 up to Alaska.

I'm sure there are other flight/bear seeing vendors out of Kodiak but we used Seahawk both time and will again if we are ever so fortunate as to return to Kodiak.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This was our OMG trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This trip was amazing! Yes, it was cold, rainy and wonderful! Rolan and Jo were great hosts. We saw breathtaking views of the shoreline, whales and a raft of over 100 otters from the plane. The experience with the bears was amazing. You need to be prepared for some walking and going through creeks...doing whatever it takes to be in the right place to view the bears. Jo is so nice and a great help to everyone. She knows the "Bear Psychology" and knew exactly where to go and when to do it. We also visited an Eagle on a nest high on a rock. She provided some great photo ops ad she flew overhead. We had a great boxed lunch in the plane on the way back.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our goal waste see bears....and bears we saw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Seahawk bear viewing trip is a must when you are on Kodiak. The pilot/owner, Rolan is a master at his craft and his wife is an extremely knowledgeable guide.
We fllew from Kodiak to the Katmai peninsula and landed in a valley at the mouth of a stream teaming with salmons and bears.
Walking among the bears gave us an unparalleled understanding of their hierarchy, styles of fishing and their demeanor in their natural habitat.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service for an unbeatable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Going with Rolan (owner and pilot) is a great way to see the Kodiak bears. He is a very good guide and knows a lot about those creatures. He acts very responsibly and respectful towards the bears. And he is a very interesting person too. It costs money but it's worth every cent.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Hawk Air Private Seaplane Charters also viewed

 

Been to Sea Hawk Air Private Seaplane Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Hawk Air Private Seaplane Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.