We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Stay in Kodiak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Smiling Bear B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Smiling Bear B&B
2046 Three Sisters Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount & Free WiFi
Ranked #3 of 20 Kodiak Island B&B and Inns
Richland, Washington
1 review
“Dream Stay in Kodiak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at Smiling Bear as I have for the past 10 years...Darlene was an awesome host and we hit the silver run as planned. Our only problem is that we want to fish early but Darlene was always up and still made the best breakfasts one could hope for!!!! We will be back again next year! Smiling Bear B&B is a tremendous gem on the Emerald Island.

Room Tip: If Darlene doesn't have a room available ask her and she will help find you a good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Darlene went out of her way to make sure we were well taken care of. We really enjoyed our stay on Kodiak Island and the location of Smiling Bear was very convienent to all areas of the island. We plan to go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Darlene couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. Her suggestions of places of interest were spot on and when our rental car had a flat - she had an air compressor, snd when it wouldn't start after - she gave us a jump.

The Inn was roomy, clean and welcoming. Definitely a place that says, "Come back again, dear friend."

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Darlene was an awesome host, an excellent cook and a lot of fun. We stayed five days and she even did our laundry. Home away from home. Totally enjoyable! She has an excellent knowledge of the fishing holes, gave us great advice on how to fish the rivers and on what to use to catch fish. Darlene is a wealth of information with a great spirit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASmilingBear, Owner at A Smiling Bear B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Rich, I enjoyed meeting you and your sons. What a great family. Your fishing adventure to float the Uganik sounds like the trip of a lifetime. I'm glad that A Smiling Bear B&B could be a part of your vacation. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

You will not be disappointed in your stay. Great stories and food at breakfast and a very pleasant hostess to hang with. She knows all about the fishing, the bears, and the local wildlife. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Smiling Bear B&B in Kodiak. Her home is recommended by everyone so I thought it was worth a try and boy did it exceed my expectations. Darlene is just the nicest person ever. Our downstairs suite was nicer than our home with every amenity imaginable. She welcomed our group of 4 adults into her home, helped us plan a great stay in Kodiak that will be remembered forever. Our only regret is that we did not stay for an entire week instead of only 3 nights. There is a lot to see and do in Kodiak so I guess we will have to return for another trip someday soon. Thanks, Darlene for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Darlene has only two rooms available. One upstairs and one downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This B&B was simply fantastic. Darlene is incredibly friendly, helpful, and gets your day started with fabulous breakfasts. She helped my group plan the best fishing trip ever, with advice on the best fishing holes and excursions like a seaplane flight to Litnik.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASmilingBear, Owner at A Smiling Bear B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review Doug, I miss you guys and am so glad you took home over 300 pounds of fish... You will have to come back for the BBQ we never had time for this year :o) I smoked up the jacks and they are great. Had some last night with wine... wonderful. All the best, Dar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Smiling Bear B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Smiling Bear B&B

Address: 2046 Three Sisters Way, Kodiak Island, AK 99615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Smiling Bear Bed and Breakfast is located 6 miles from downtown Kodiak on Monashka Bay. We offer two deluxe suites. Both have private entry, queen bed, dbl sofa sleeper, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dining table with chairs, master bath with Jacuzzi tub and stand-up shower. Both suites also offer TV with digital cable premium channels, Wireless Internet connection, and phone. Fax, and laundry available upon request. The main floor suite is handicapped accessible. The second floor Suite has a bonus room with a queen bed and is available for larger parties. We also provide freezer space for your catch. A full or continental breakfast is included (special diets on request). We are situated on a acre lot in a relaxed, secluded, quiet setting surrounded by spruce trees. Pets are welcome on prior approval. Bird feeders in the yard offer a variety of birds that come to visit every day. There are also three large decks with deck furniture and a BBQ available for your use along with a large yard and a great view of Monashka Bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Smiling Bear B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Smiling Bear B&B to your Saves list