We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food And Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Narrows Inn & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Narrows Inn & Marina to your Saves list
Narrows Inn & Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4871 North Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Bad Food And Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

If you like eating dinner with an intoxicated drunk owner than this is the place for you. The service started out okay, but the waiter kept wanting to chit chat with every single customer. By the time I received my food it was a bit dried out probably from sitting under the heat lamps. While we were waiting for our food a gentleman came into the room seeming concerned whether or not we have been served. Not yet knowing nor politely asking the staff if we have been helped he came to our table and smelt like booze, even-though his speech was not impaired his verbal actions displayed it all. I use to be a waitress, so I understand that some customers like to talk with the staff. But if you are wanting to just eat your meal with the company you showed up with, than the staff should let that be, and stop talking!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip to Canada and Alaska. Whilst I can't really disagree with the othe reviews, I was not as impressed as I expected to be. We paid extra for a seaview room, which we got partially but most of our view was of the restaurant and car park. I wasn't expecting the rooms to be of a motel style, which was not a problem but still a bit of a shock on arriving. The room itself was fine, bit small but clean and comfortable. The restaurant had really great views of eagles, floatplanes and boats and was fine for breakfast and lunch, good food and reasonable prices but we found it rather expensive for what we got at dinner. Unfortunately it was really the only decent place to eat as Ketchikan appears to shut down when a cruise ship isn't in and we strugged to find anywhere to else to eat at night. The location is well out of town, a free shuttle is available at most times (bit of a wait usually involved) and when we needed to get to the ferry before the shuttle started, the hotel paid for our taxi which was a nice touch. I did know about the location when I booked the hotel but thought the inconvience of being out of town would be worth it to stay in what appeared to be the best hotel in town. Unfortunately, I don't think it was. On reflection, if we return, I would stay at the Cape Fox as it looked to be just as nice but in a better location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We took the advice of TripAdvisor and stayed here overnight while on a ferry trip from Bellingham, WA to Whittier, AK. Their shuttle picked us up at the ferry terminal and was always available to take us anywhere we wanted to go at no charge. The room was small but well appointed and clean and we had a beautiful view. Would have liked double beds but the double plus twin worked out fine. The restaurant had an outstanding view of the narrows and we watched float planes and barges as well as big cruise ships go by while we ate. The service was a bit slow but always friendly and the food was great. We had two breakfasts which were standard fare; didn't try any thing out of the ordinary. For dinner we tried several appetizers which were good, however, the oysters on the half shell were outstanding! Would definitely stay here again. Best value in town for the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I'm a food guy. This very nice restaurant on the water has the best halibut and salmon ever.
How? It is all locally caught, fresh and brought to your table!
Another hint, you are dinning with locals at the next table.
Watch the resident eagles on the dock.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I traveled to Ketchikan on business and arrived on December 22nd for what was supposed to be a short trip. I wound up staying in Ketchikan at the Narrows Inn for a total of 5 weeks. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, its staff, its restaurant and bar. The employees were the best, the food was so good I ate at the restaurant almost every single meal of my stay. The food was 5 star quality every night. The atmosphere was great the scenery was beautiful and my stay could not have been made any more comfortable by everyone who worked there. I spent Christmas, New Years and my Birthday at the Narrows and will treasure my time spent there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed in suite A at the Narrows when we arrived in town for a new job. After we checked in to the gorgeous suite, we walked into the lounge and immediately received a warm welcome from Don and Pam, the owners. The staff were friendly and cheerful in that unique Ketchikan way and we felt we were among friends, if not family. It was a welcome and pleasant surprise, and a perfect end to a long day. The chef and kitchen staff whip up some outstanding food, and the lounge is a great place to unwind after a hard day at work or a day on the boat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I love this hotel. My husband and I frequently have to spend the night in Ketchikan on our way to or from Prince of Wales Island. We always stay here. It is close to the airport, has great shuttle service, a beautiful view of the ocean, and a great restaurant. It is a beautiful, peaceful place .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narrows Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Inn & Marina

Address: 4871 North Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narrows Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Narrows Inn is the only year round hotel located on the water. We have panoramic views from our restaurant and lounge. We have an assortment of rooms ranging from our garden view, to ocean view, and three themed suites. Our shuttle bus is on demand for trips to town and the airport ferry. This is where "the bridge to nowhere" was supposed to be built, thus you must take a ferry from the island where the airplanes land to our island where the town is located. We will pick you up and take you to the hotel located 1 mile north of the airport ferry, making it extremely easy access coming to and from the airport. Our restaurant is known for its excellent food, especially the cedar planked salmon and halibut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Narrows Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrows Hotel Ketchikan
Narrows Hotel Marina
Narrows Inn & Marina Ketchikan, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrows Inn & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.