We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose's Caboose

Rose's Caboose
4761 Tongass Ave., Ketchikan, AK 99901
+1 907-225-8377
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Built inside a real train caboose is this local restaurant. We offer a variety of burgers ranging from the traditional hamburger or cheeseburger to our more unique items such as the Zapper or Rosie burger. We also offer other items such as, Fish and Chips made with local halibut, chicken wings, chicken strips, clam strips, steak fingers, and much, much more. Not hungry? Stop by for one of our delicious milkshakes! They are hand scooped and made with real ingredients, no syrups. We offer both indoor and outdoor dining option. Our indoor eating area was just recently remodeled for a more enjoyable environment. If you choose to eat outside, you can enjoy watching float planes take off, ships go by and maybe even get lucky and see some whales. Rose's has been family owned and operated for the past 23 years, we have enjoyed every year of it and look forward to many more.
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It's a bit on the pricey side for fast food... but everything we got there was delicious. The fried mac and cheese was to die for. They take a little longer than most to cook the food, but everything was fresh and tasty. Would recommend, and would go back if we're every back in Ketchikan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than the last burgers we got here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

About a month ago we got burgers and sides for our family we were not impressed considered not going back. The patties were small thin like you would get at Mcdonalds. We are locals and have eaten here hundreds of times. My daughter spent a couple weeks in the hospital she wasn't eating we went out and got dinner for us and bought her a strawberry banana milkshake she loved it and the burgers were much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ordered burgers and fry's and a fresh blue berry shake. The burgers were thick, fresh , and amazing!! The shakes were not very flavorful , the frys were basic, the onion rings were very good. I specifically ate the jalapeño burger I loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NICE PRICE!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food was good! The people working there were very friendly. However, the thing that is most impressive is the PRICE!!! Those prices are not your typical Alaskan rate. The food is priced more in line with lower 48 counterparts. A $4.95 hamburger is a bargain here!

Did I mention the food was also good?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Great place to cheat on your diet!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

While in Ketchikan for work in May 2014, I stopped at Rose's for a delicious lunch that was anything but high-fiber, low calorie! Ya know, you just have to do this every now and then....

Rose's is a drive-in perched on a hill north of town overlooking scenic Tongass Narrows. On a nice day in the summer, one can consume their meal whilst sitting at a park bench, watching the cruise ships go by and the planes land at the airport on Gravina Island. The conditions didn't allow this on the day of my visit, so I sat in my rental car and proceeded to feed my face. There are no inside accommodations.

Contrasted against the other local burger joint of notoriety, Burger Queen, Rose's matches the milk shake offerings and has a slightly more varied menu. In addition to all manner of burgers, one can order clam strips, chicken wings, corn dogs, shrimp boats .... the list goes on and on. See the photos provided. I'll have to come back again.

My choice for this lunch was a baconburger and an order of fries. The baconburger was actually a bacon cheeseburger. It was quite tasty, the meat was perfectly cooked and the bun held up well to the substantial and juicy patty. The fries were h-o-t and sprinkled with what tasted like seasoning salt. All in all, a great meal for just over $10.

Have a burger here (or probably anything else on the menu) and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Caboose also viewed

 

Been to Rose's Caboose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose's Caboose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.