We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Must Visit. Excellent Experience and a lot of Fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien's Pub and Eatery - CLOSED

O'Brien's Pub and Eatery
211 Stedman Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
907-247-2326
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Seafood, Pub, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Coffee House by morning - Alaskan Pub by Lunch & DinnerBest Fish & Chips in KetchikanSuperb Customer Service with a Waterfront ViewGuinness & Local Alaskan Breweries on DraftJust an All Around Fun Place to be in KetchikanAll Meats Roasted in-house & ONLY Fresh Alaskan Seafood is Served
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a Must Visit. Excellent Experience and a lot of Fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped into O'Brien's Pub and Eatery on a business trip to Ketchikan. They had live music that was fantastic and I had the best burger I've had in Alaska (perhaps ever)...The staff is friendly & Willie O'Brien (the owner) was extemely entertaining. The beers on draft were local Alaskan Breweries & they are great! I plan to be back in May for business...and from what I understand, they will have locally caught Salmon & Guinness battered fish and chips to choose from....I'll definitely make this place home base! Fantastic!
5 stars-
Thanks!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Local Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am a local here in Ketchikan and I love going to the pub to have a few pints Guinness, the only place in town to get it on tap, or they always have other interesting Alaskan beers to choose from, and eat the Pub sliders, they are amazing! With great local bands at least once a month this is where i like to go to hang out with friends for a laid back night. The bartenders are always prompt and friendly with a great attitude. I think this is a great place for locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Bagel I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Came across O'Briens first morning after arriving from enjoying time at a fishing lodge with family. I had a bagel with cheese, eggs and corned beef. my daughter was bummed that she didn't order it for herself. Next morning we had breakfast again and needless to say we all had bagels. Came back later in the day for a beer and snack and the food was fresh and the owners were great especially after they learned we were from Detroit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A poor substitute for the old Ketchikan Coffee Company!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was expecting the old New York Cafe and was a bit disappointed to find O'Briens in its place. The service was okay but not the friendly ladies that used to be at the Ketchikan Coffee Company, the food was decent but the menu was very limited. The free wireless was appreciated and the coffee was good. Average best describes this little pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Homey and open early for two early birds loving their coffee. We weren't disappointed with very good espresso and a great breakfast. Lunch later in the day was wonderful pot roast. Their selection of hard to find Alaskan beers was tops. Wish I had come down the night before for scotch and bar talk with O'Brien. Will come back for sure!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien's Pub and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien's Pub and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.