We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel to your Saves list
Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   207 Stedman Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pacific Northwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

If you're in Ketchikan to experience the town, there is no better location as you can walk everywhere -- restaurants, Southeast Alaska Discovery Center, waterfront, Creek Street, etc. Very convenient, quaint rooms, excellent cafe downstairs, free wifi, and just enough off the main drag to where it's quiet. If you're in Ketchikan from now until July 12, be sure to see the excellent exhibit "Salmon in the Trees" at the Discovery Center. Also, be sure to visit Soho Coho on Creek Street -- local artist Ray Troll's gallery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for a quieter experien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    67
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
75
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tooele, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it's nice, comfy bed, and a great window fan, with nice staff. We arrived at midnight on the ferry, and the lobby was open, so called from the front desk to get checked in, and someone was there in 5 mins. Love the location, close to everything. Side window but still had a view of the harbor. Long flight of stairs to rooms, and I had a lot of trouble getting connected to the Wi-fi but there is a computer for guest use in the hallway and I used that most of the time. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

My room at the Inn was on the second floor overlooking Ketchikan Creek, a rocky freshet alive with salmon and steelhead trout. The room was set on Creek Street, the old red light district in historic Ketchikan. Married Man's Trail leads off the end of the
Boardwalk into a patch of rainforest. Off the other end of the boardwalk Thompson
Harbor is home to a bustling fishing fleet. Creek Street itself is a string of intriguing shops, my favorites being Parnasis Books and The Soho Coho Gallery, outlet for artist Ray Troll"s thought provoking and delightful treatments of fish and philosophy.

The room was comfortable with a queen bed and a mini kitchenettes (fridge, microwave, sink). The jetted tub was a welcome sanctuary after a full day of exploration.

If you favor hotels that offer the same cookie cutter room in each town the Inn may not sit you. If you want something unique that will leave you with stories worth repeating try this out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed in the Preacher's House with several kids. It was a perfect!

The house was cozy, clean, had room to move, a kitchen, and quiet, comfy places to relax and sleep. We were within easy walking distance of a grocery store, downtown, the tram, docks and Whale Park. We didn't need to rent a car because we were given rides where ever we needed to go which was a huge help! The coffee shop next door was excellent and in the evening was a great spot for relaxing and listening to a little music. It was a peaceful place to wake up while enjoying the views of Ketchikan before we beginning our busy days.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in the Loft Room which is a small apartment, perfect for two couples or a family. Loved the Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom! Quaint location on the boardwalk at Creek Street but you don't want to have a lot of bags to carry!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

For business or leisure, the historic Inn at Creek Street is a wonderful place to stay, relax, and enjoy. I stayed here every time I travel to Ketchikan, and both their loft apartments and standard rooms are classy, cozy, and just beautiful. Every detail and amenity is thoughtfully provided, from mints in the rooms, to quilts on the beds. The staff is friendly, down-to-earth, and go above and beyond to ensure that the guest has a wonderful experience. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown next to the creek, so those staying at the loft can sleep to the relaxing sounds of the water. A great value, this hotel is one of my favorite reasons to go to Ketchikan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Out of all the hotels I've stayed in, while traveling through Ketchikan, this has been by far the best hotel I've stayed in. The suites are just the Cutest! Love the fact that you get full kitchen in the suites and the prices just can't be beat either. Highly recommend anyone staying there; usually do to my friends and family as well. LOVE IT!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel

Address: 207 Stedman Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel has been tastefully restored and features a historic atmosphere and modern amenities. It is located in the heart of Ketchikan where Alaska's famous Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street historic districts join. Many standard rooms overlook the small-boat harbor and Tongass Narrows. Most suites and vacation rentals are located on the Historic Creek Street Boardwalk and feature balconies overlooking Ketchikan Creek with frequent wildlife sightings by guests. Top-notch customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Creek Street And New York Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.