We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little stop in a big state” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Mermaids

Sweet Mermaids
340 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6431
907-225-3287
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Seasonal business.
1 review
“Little stop in a big state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Sweet Mermaids is a quaint little shop on the main street in Ketchikan, a small town in a big state. I came here for the first time early summer 2013, and asked the girl behind the counter what was the first thing she would recommend. Smiling she picked up an item that i would soon purchase almost overtime i entered the shop. The oreo truffle. I was hooked. I have sent all my friends and a number visiting tourists. This is one of the best restaurants i ever been in. Rob R.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sweet Mermaids is the best. Their breakfast burritos are delicious and filling, their pastry case is always full of some new delectable creation, and the ladies are warm and welcoming. Even though we were only in town for three days it felt like we'd been coming for years. I already miss it. We didn't have enough time to taste the whole menu! If you're in Ketchikan, this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
“Amazing sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just died and went to heaven with the blueberry cheesecake ! Service is great and people are awesome !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a delicious bite. Breakfast or lunch they serve up some amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spent a week in Ketchikan and visited Sweet Mermaids on the first day and every day after....I just couldn't get enough. These ladies serve some amazing food, sandwiches, homemade soups, breakfast burritos. The menu is huge, everything is creative and tasty and the service was amazing. They were glad to see me, and remembered my name. It is a great place to stop if you are getting off a cruise ship or staying in town. Going for a bike ride or a hike? Have them wrap a bagel sandwich to take on your adventure. Some of my favorites this week: lox and bagel sandwich, Mermaid breakfast burrito with egg, cheese, hash browns inside and a side of salsa and hot sauce if you so desire. I had the best jalapeno bagel with pesto spread and a slice of tomato on top...it was toasted and simply amazing combination of flavors. You must check this place out....Sweet Mermaids is on the main drag across from the cruise ships. They are open early until late afternoon.....go.....just go. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was hot the day we were there, and after touring the totem pole parks, Creek St. and numerous shops we were in desperate need of a good iced coffee before heading back to our cruise ship. They have a very extensive drink menu so we asked the barista what her favorite was and she made us iced white chocolate mocha with irish cream. It was so good! It's a small place with few tables so we got our drinks and kept walking. They had some desserts that looked pretty good but we didn't try any so can't say how they were.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Mermaids also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Mermaids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Mermaids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.