We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southeast Alaska Discovery Center

Southeast Alaska Discovery Center
50 Main St, Ketchikan, AK
+1 907-228-6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Attractions in Ketchikan
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast Alaska Discovery Center is the gateway to the Tongass National Forest. Explore the amazing ecology of the coastal rainforest, connect with the rich cultures of the region's native peoples, enjoy Junior Ranger activities with your kids and experience the Tongass from the comfort of our theatre through an 18-minute, high-definition film. The Discovery Center also features an Alaska Geographic Bookstore with books, maps and gifts highlighting the natural and cultural history of Southeast Alaska.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is one of the most inclusive, well done centers of its kind. The detail and oral histories are fantastic and the model animals are realistic. The artifacts and hands on displays really show the history of this area.

Best way to spend an hour in Ketchikan, much better than those touristy shops.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis M, Public Relations Manager at Southeast Alaska Discovery Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Discovery Center and thanks for sharing your experience here! Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You must stop here if visiting SE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Southeast Alaska Discovery Center. The first time for my wife and grandson. You have to pay $5 per person for entry but you get great value for that. It is right in the heart of downtown, a couple of blocks from Creek street and the cruise ship docks. The interpretative portion of the center is very informative focusing on all aspects; wildlife, ecosystem, native peoples, and the main industries; fishing, logging and mining.

Allow for at least one hour to see everything. Make sure to see the 18 minute movie about the Tongass National Forest. The scenery of this video is stunning.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Glad we found this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Within easy 2 block walking distance of the cruise ship dock, right in town.The $5 admission is a bargain. Excellent US Forest Service film and nice dioramas displaying rainforest habitat , Tlingit & Haida cultures and native flora & fauna.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good information pertaining to Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My 7yr old and I took the self guided tour at the Discovery Center in Ketchikan. Admission for my son was free and I paid a nominal charge. There is no limit as to how long you can stay, and there are many great exhibits to see with an abundance of information. The movie was great and relaxing. The center is not very big, but we were easily there for over an hour.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to culture/nature of SE Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This center is very modern and nicely laid out. Nice exhibits with lots of good information. Time spent here is a thousand times better than plying the diamond and watch stores pushed by the cruise lines. It is within easy walking distance of center of town and the cruise-line dock. We thought this was very worthwhile.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southeast Alaska Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Southeast Alaska Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southeast Alaska Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.