We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful kayaking, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southeast Exposure Outdoor Adventure Center

Southeast Exposure Outdoor Adventure Center
37 Potter Road, Ketchikan, AK 99901
907-225-8829
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$112*
and up
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Ketchikan
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water sports, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southeast Exposure: Ketchikan Kayak & Zipline Adventure Tours.Welcome to Southeast Exposure. Established in Ketchikan, Alaska in 1986, we provide guided sea kayaking tours, rentals, and lessons in and around Ketchikan Alaska.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most beautiful kayaking, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I had only two days to spare to kayak in Misty Fjords and tried for months to coordinate. Ultimately, only Southeast Exposure was able to help us make it work, and at a price point significantly below their competition. We have kayaked all over (Patagonia, elsewhere in Alaska) and were really impressed with the personal attention we received on this excursion. Our guide even went out in advance to find a campsite for us away from another group in the area! The food was fresh (fruit, cheese, crackers, and wine all ready for us as we pulled up on the beach!), the equipment seemed brand new, and friendliness and good will were contagious. I cannot recommend this outfitter highly enough, and kayaking in Punchbowl should be on any adventurer's bucket list.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too bad the weather didn't cooperate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved our kayak trip with Southeast Exposure. We chose this company as we wanted to get as far from the cruise congestion as possible. Our adventure began with a van ride to the other side of town. From there we boarded a motor boat that took us to the Tatoosh Islands. Our guide was wonderful. The weather was gorgeous so we headed out - our only worry was getting sunburned. Then the Alaska weather surprised us. Out of nowhere - 35 mile an hour winds!! We are still telling the tails of our 3 hour tour and would gladly do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a great day with awesome weather. A 20 min bus ride gave a great scene of the area followed by a 20 min zodiac ride to a great secluded area. We kayaked on clear smooth water in the Tatoosh Islands that was a great experience. KT and Autumn gave a great guided tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable & patient staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took the morning kayak trip to Eagle Islands while on a cruise. We were blessed with a wonderful day of sunny 70s in July. But, what made this kayaking day so good was the patience and enthusiasm of the staff. They worked to make everyone as "expert" as possible in the limited time we had (~ 1 1/2 on the water) and helped those with limited expertise become comfortable on the water.

Their enthusiasm for the area and knowledge of life in Alaska made it more than just a day paddling around a passage. They also worked to get us the "I been there" photos that everyone wanted, but in a calm protected area of the water. And, yes, we saw eagles, a mamma deer and her two fawns, as well as a seal that kept popping its head to watch us. A great end to our cruising in Alaska.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent excursion all-way round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I went on this excursion as part of a cruise and did the four hour kayak tour with my wife and two children (ages 11 and 13). After a short bus ride that was full of information about the area, we were met by our guides Laura and Lauren who, along with Rosemary outfitted us for two-person kayaks (they did have a three-person kayak too) and we set off to kayak the coastal waters. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. They did a great job with the kids. We had dry bags for our gear that came with us and and some things were left in the boat house (I don't know how secure that was). We all wore splash skirts and flotation vests to keep dry and safe.

We paddled around Eagle Island and saw no fewer than 20 bald eagles as well as two fawns. The guides made sure that one of them was with the the stragglers as well and I felt very comfortable in the surroundings as this was the first time I'd kayaked in open water.

I wouldn't say this was a difficult excursion physically but a few notes:

1) The tour clearly states that upper body strength is required. Paddling around in coastal waters is tiring and it's most (if not all) upper body exercise.

2) The person in the rear of the kayak had foot controls to control the rudder. This does take some getting used to. The knees end up being bent rather than keeping your legs straight.

3) The seating position in a canoe isn't the same as a kayak. You are lower to the water and you sit with your back up against the kayak.

Most of all, my kids, wife and I had a great time on this trip and I would recommend kayaking with Southeast Exposure to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southeast Exposure Outdoor Adventure Center also viewed

 

Been to Southeast Exposure Outdoor Adventure Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southeast Exposure Outdoor Adventure Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.