We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great lunch at this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Cape Fox Lodge
800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
907-225-8001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The lodge has a full service dining room/lounge that we visited.
Ellington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“We had a great lunch at this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The wife and I were told by a local to check out this place for lunch as it wasnt touristy and we did. Let me tell you it was a GREAT lunch and very reasonable priced unlike the other places to eah in Alaska.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    50
    15
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Ketchikan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Always like to come to Cape Fox Lodge to eat at least one meal when we come to Ketchikan because I love the setting. We use to pick blueberries at this location when we were children years ago. The food is always good but sometimes they are out of things you would think they should not be out of - like breakfast sausage one morning. Service is very slow and they rarely come around with the coffee. This could really be an awesome place with the right management.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very good menu with fast service and friendly staff. It does however have the worst coffe in the world.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ketchikan visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had an advanage visiting Ketchikan as we had friends who gave us an up and close tour. The Cape Fox resturants food was just great! and very reasonable price, highly recommend it. the view was out of this world. You must take the ride to the top then walk on back down in the back to see the many Totems and Creek Street. The town is just beautiful you really need a good 3 to 4 hours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great crab Brie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This past June a group of 10 went up the funicular to Cape Lodge. The view was great. Kind of weird at the bottom they charge you 2 bucks to go up and don't lose your ticket lady at bottom asks to see it again when you get off. My son didn't have his and ask if she was going to make him go back up? She didn't see any humor in it.
Food was great. Spendy yes but all food in Alaska was expensive they ship it up there. My kids had a 18.00 crab sandwich the next stop in Skagway.
Our fishing guide told us to try the crab Brie dip. It was the hit of the whole table. They serve it on green apple slices. We ordered two. The waitress was a little overwhelmed with our big table but we were in no hurry. It was warm had a great view. After a morning of fishing it was very welcome. The place was rustic and clean. Some of the places downtown were cramped and overflowing with tourists. Definitely worth the two dollar funicular ride up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Fox Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Fox Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.