We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Fish House

Alaska Fish House
3 Salmon Landing, Ketchikan, AK
907-225-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: The Alaska Fish House is easily Ketchikan's first choice for fresh Alaskan seafood. Visit us at the end of Main Street, just a short walk from the cruise ship docks. Enjoy gourmet seafood dining next to the most historic fishing fleet in Ketchikan. Try a complimentary sample of our delicious smoked salmon corn bread while ordering from our menu featuring alder-grilled salmon, halibut & chips, crab, and our famous smoked salmon chowder. Ship home the same smoked salmon that we feature on our menu.
Restaurant details
Description: The Alaska Fish House is easily Ketchikan's first choice for fresh Alaskan seafood. Visit us at the end of Main Street, just a short walk from the cruise ship docks. Enjoy gourmet seafood dining next to the most historic fishing fleet in Ketchikan. Try a complimentary sample of our delicious smoked salmon corn bread while ordering from our menu featuring alder-grilled salmon, halibut & chips, crab, and our famous smoked salmon chowder. Ship home the same smoked salmon that we feature on our menu.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a cruise, we always walk around the port city to get a feel of the area and eat something local--Ketchikan was very touristy, very! We were one of the first cruise ships of the season and it still was packed, all of Holland ships came into dock within a hour of each other. We walked around and picked up a couple of tshirts and decided that it was a bit busy for us so we wanted lunch to go-with that said, we found the Alaskan fish house, it was their first day of the season, we ordered our order to go, they were super nice, gave us their recommendations which we took, we ordered the smoked salmon chowder and fish and chips with halibut. They packed us all of our utensils and napkins and we headed back to the ship to have lunch on our quiet balcony overlooking town--our view was perfect and chowder was amazing--thick and rich! The cornbread was also very good. The halibut was light and flakey--perfect lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    73
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips & Location, Service A Little Slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Alaska Fish House is right next to the Lumberjack Show and near a lot of great shopping. It is right on the water and we watched Bald Eagles swooping in to catch fish while we waited for our food. Depending on which berth your ship is at, it is a 5-10 minute walk away.

We walked in and there was a short line ahead, just enough time to read over the chalk-board menu hanging over the registers. I got the local Alaskan halibut & chips (like always with me) and my wife got the salmon chowder. The prices were comparable with every other seafood place we visited on our 2 week trip- these places have the summer to do a year’s worth of business, so it may seem expensive compared to the lower 48.

They take your order at the front counter and put your name on a paper ticket, it then goes in a line of tickets waiting to be prepared. No employees were super-friendly, just low-level common courtesy. For as many cruise ships in town that day, the restaurant was not very busy. We grabbed a table near a window and relaxed. They do not have fountain sodas here, instead you purchase cans of soda. There is no waitress in the dining room; just someone comes through every so often to clear tables. If you need something, you go back up to the front.

Every ticket is made to order so you can expect a wait, even to Alaskan standards. One area behind the kitchen just had people prepping fish. We probably waited 30 minutes, but I was in no hurry for once. When your food is done, a girl comes into the dining room and yells your name and walks your food over. The fish and chips were in a box and looked great. The chowder was in a simple styrofoam bowl. The jalapeño cornbread had been heated in a microwave and was dry & not very good. I'm not a fan of salmon, but my wife ate most of the chowder and enjoyed it. My halibut and chips were excellent. They came with cole slaw and a home-made tartar sauce for the fish- both were great as well. The meal was great and worth the short wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food but Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This nice cozy venue sits right next to the Lumberjack Show with seats indoor overlooking the water or outside on picnic tables in front of the restaurant. We had a late lunch so there was no waiting. We ordered the Halibut (locally caught) Fish and Chips Meal and were not overwhelmed. It's pretty standard which is fine but for the price (18.99 for 3 pieces) we expected a bit more "wow" to it. Interestingly, the salad/slaw served with it was delightful with a good zest of what tasted like lime. Also, the fries were outstanding. We weren't hungry enough to try a Salmon Burger but in retrospect wished we had ordered that. In the end, this place has your typical good fish and chips but not really anything to write home about, just on Trip Advisor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good fried salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate here prior to the lumberjack show which is right across the street. They were very busy and we wanted to sample our first fresh salmon dish in Alaska. We thought it was good although a little pricey. We enjoyed it. I wouldn't call it fine dining but it had a good selection of chowder and fish dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed the chowder here. The girl who served us was very friendly - a chap I spoke to after the meal was a bit snippy, though. The food was good, fairly basic menu but well cooked. We ate outside in the sunshine (a rare occurence in Ketchikan apparently) and enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.