We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastic yet something amiss...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours

Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours
P.O. Box 7693, Ketchikan, AK 99901
(907) 254-7286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 80 Activities in Ketchikan
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic yet something amiss...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

It was a pleasure dealing with this wonderful couple! Dave was right on time to pick us up - and off we went. Dave is a treasure trove of information and it was actually not only entertaining but actually educational to be with him! He took great enthusiasm in making it more interesting for our 10 year old and we saw lots of eagles, deer, berries (of various kind - including some that looked like salmon eggs), crabs, and a whole lot of other marine small-life. We missed the salmon run and along with that the bear too, which we were expecting to see. The Totem park is worth a quick walk and quite interesting when one understands the folklore behind it. 2-3 hours is more than sufficient to see whatever there is to see in Ketchikan. In hindsight, Ketchikan was actually lackluster, and if you are doing this tour looking for bears, think again! This is really not the best way to be looking for them - that's the reason one star is getting knocked out!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    14
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great time was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had 6 family members traveling together with an age range of 23 to 79 and everyone found it enjoyable and informative. Loved having our small group alone rather than a large bus tour. Dave was very informative and shared a lot of information from his experience. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Ketchikan.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Ketchikan with Ketchikan Taxi Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We were so pleased with our last minute Taxi tour with Kat. We only planned our tour 2 days prior to our arrival, and via text messaging with owner David. We were met at The Rock bronze statues by the dock. David facilitated our coordination with another couple on a separate cruise to share the van. It worked beautifully. We garnered great information on Ketchikan and Life in Alaska. Kat took us to the Rain Forest and the Totem Bight and "The End Of the Road" in addition to many other interesting locations inaccessible by bus. She provided one on one information and answers to our questions. If you are looking for a small group personalized tour, away from the crowds of the cruise ship, Kat and David fit the bill. They both love Alaska and it shows.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The experience had been great - from enquiry, reservation to pick-up and tour. Though there's only 50 miles of road in Ketchikan, Kat managed to make our road trip a great and enjoyable one. We were able to see an orca whale near the shore and a baby eagle (no bear though as it was high tide which according to Kat, means less chance of spotting one), had a short hike in the rainforest, and also saw the totems. Kat also showed us some interesting areas around town and made numerous stops for photos along the way. She is a great guide and is eager to make your trip a worthwhile one, and she did it. Would highly recommend this taxi tours if you are considering a road trip in Ketchikan.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I used this tour company after carefully checking out Tripadvisor reviews. We had a group of 5 over 3 generations visiting Ketchikan while in port during a cruise. I felt Ketchikan didn't offer any major "must see" attractions, so this tour company was the best option to get a glimpse of a little of everything in the area while making sure our group was comfortable the whole time. Kat was a wonderful guide and the cab fit all of us comfortably. We went to a bear-spotting site, but didn't get to see any bears...though we did see eagles. We got to also see salmon, take pictures by a waterfall, and see the totems at Potlatch park and Totem Bight Park. We got to stop by a Walmart to pick up some snacks and souvenirs and Kat also stopped by a small local booth selling coffee to get our caffeine fix on the way to the totem park. After the tour was over, Kat was kind enough to drop off half the group off at the cruise ship dock and the rest of us over at Creek Street to check out some of the shops there and then roam around downtown. It was definitely a fun day out and we got lots of nice pictures.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.