We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ketchikan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
420 Alder Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What more could we add to the fact that Alyce’s Alderhouse B&B was the very best place we stayed on our, self organised trip through Western Canada and Alaska. Overlooking the ferry terminal, (using the Alaska Highway Ferry System is a must for those seeking the most from their holiday) and just a short bus ride into town, Alderhouse was both convenient and charming. The spotless and tastefully décored rooms complimented the friendliness of our hostess and her wonderful breakfasts, born from years of experience. We have no hesitation in recommending Alderhouse to any discerning traveller.

David and Jan
(Elderly travellers from Australia)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Alyce Bethel is a superb inkeeper, with her three-room B&B in the beautiful town of Ketchikan.

She and husband Mike have a lovely and very comfortable home on a hill overlooking the harbor. The decor is a great mix of antiques, Alaskan historical items and fabulous art by Tlingket and Haida craftspeople.

Breakfasts are excellent--so good you might miss an excursion, lingering over coffee and fascinating conversation with Alyce and other guests.

We stayed for three great nights at Alderhouse and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay view
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Great hostess, great food, great location. Clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

It can be difficult to find a B&B to accomodate three couples but not a problem at the Alderhouse B & B. Not only three couples but four people who were up early to fish. Alyce had muffins, coffee, and to-go snacks ready for us. The girls not fishing were treated to an extra special breakfast. The house is absolutely beautiful and so clean. Alyce has quilts on display, and being a quilter myself, can't think of a better way to make a place say "home". No question where we plan to stay when returning to Ketchikan!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Sask
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

You will be hard pressed to find a B & B better than this. The attention to detail and service is in a class of its own. Excellent breakfast (No muffins in a zip-lock bag here).

Five minutes from the ferry, and a fifteen to twenty minute walk to downtown.

S&BR

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at this B&B which is one of the best that we have stayed at.
The breakfast was very tasty and imaginative and served in bright, airy and beautifully furnished surroundings.
It’s a little bit out of town, but in a very tour ship oriented town that is not a bad thing especially if you have a car.
Alyce was extremely helpful with information regarding parking downtown and places to eat etc.
We had long and amusing chats about our mutual travel experiences which we always find helpful in planning our future trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I don't know how Alyce keeps the place do spic 'n span, but she does. Her tasty breakfasts are artfully produced, but not weird. And the gathering room, complete with gas fireplace and a view, is a lovely place to spend early mornings, late evenings, and anytime in between. Tip: Although we could have gotten around without a car from this location, we really appreciated having rented one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 420 Alder Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean, comfortable and cozy rooms, each with ensuite shower bathroom. Lounge with comfortable seating, including recliners; relax or catch up on your emails in this spacious room while enjoying the scenery overlooking the Tongass Narrows or enjoy the deck space outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderhouse Bed And Breakfast Ketchikan, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.