We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, service and of course, great fishing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfall Resort Alaska

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterfall Resort Alaska to your Saves list
Waterfall Resort Alaska
320 Dock St., Suite 222, Box 6440, Ketchikan, AK 99901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Night Special: 35% Off!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome location, service and of course, great fishing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Once again Waterfall Resort proved why it is a world class fishing resort. There great location and historic site combined with top-notch service, fishing boats, guides and great food make Waterfall Resort a top choice for anyone looking for the very best Alaska fishing adventure. Waterfall Resort can also accommodate corporate groups and is the only Alaskan lodge with an Alaska Air counter for checking bags and fish boxes at the resort. Anglers here don't have to worry about their bags or fish boxes after leaving the resort.

Room Tip: I prefer the cabins, but have stayed at the lodge above the store. If given a choice go for the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for the flattering review, Mr. Halibut! There are of course plenty of good places to fish in Alaska, so we're doubly pleased when a guest notices the things we do to stand out from the crowd.

Our historic location as the most productive seafood cannery in Alaska... The easy travel experience with our proximity to Seattle and our on-site Alaska Airlines agent... And our relentless commitment to expert service, from the guides to the executive chef to preparing your catch for you to take home. It's all worth it when a guest shares unforgettable memories of the best fishing trip ever, and carries on the grand tradition of Waterfall Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have been going to Waterfall for 3 years in a row now (and once before about 10 years back). I plan on continuing to make this an annual trip going forward. The scenery is beautful, the facilites and equipment are great, and the guides are top notch. The experiance may be more regimented than some people prefer (the entire trip is scheduled down to the hour), but as a result you get the most fishing time in as possible. You certainly can do what you want as long as you work it out with your guide and fellow boat mates (4 people per boat). Ive found it especially fun if you go in groups of 4 - as the boats fit 4 guests each. Ultimately, this trip is one of the highlights of my year!

Room Tip: Ive only stayed in the cabins - but they have multi story suites with hottubs as well I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallAlaska, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Hi Mark,

Thanks for the glowing feedback about Waterfall Resort! We're happy you discovered what a great tradition it is coming back to this historic location every year, just like the salmon do.

It's helpful to know we might sometimes come across a bit too regimented. Admittedly, it's not always easy making sure everybody safely gets on the right boats and float planes every day. But we believe "expert service" means it's our job to handle all those details seamlessly so our guests can focus on just having a great time fishing.

Looking forward to seeing you on the water for our 100 year Centennial Celebration this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

After years of hearing about Waterfall Resort in S.E. Alaska, I finally made a trip to the resort in June. Wow, what a great fishing resort in remote, wilderness Alaska.

Waterfall Resort offers anglers a five star experience and five star fishing. Unlike many resorts in remote Alaska, Waterfall has the very best equipment, boats, experienced guides, incredible service and the very best fish packaging I have encountered. They even have an on site Alaska Airlines reservation specialist. Check your bags and fish at the resort and then pick them up at your home airport. How cool is that?

As fishing editor of GoFishMagazine.com as well as writing for many other fishing magazines, I have experienced dozens of fishing resorts and can highly recommend Waterfall Resort to anyone who wants to experience top-notch Alaska fishing for king salmon, coho salmon, halibut, lingcod and rockfish.

Sincerely,
John L. Beath

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

If you want to have a first class fishing trip plan to go to Waterfall. I just got back from my 4th trip and as usual it was a great experience. Service , accomodations, fishing and location are all fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was a wonderful trip that I purchased as a gift for my son's 29th birthday. what a fabulous experience. The rooms were excellent the food was great and our guide was the best. It was a "turnkey" operation. We showed up and they outfitted us with all of the gear. Our boat was comfortable and quick to get on the fishing spots. Our only problem was what we were going to do with 400 lbs of Halibut and Salmon? We figured that one out and had the best fish for months afterward. Waterfall does a great job of packing and sealing your catch. DO THIS TRIP!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I'm feel lucky to work for such a generous company that sent me to this special place. The staff was kind, the food was good, the fishing was blast, but the experience as a whole was memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

It is pricey, but worth every penny. The resort runs like a well oiled machine from arrival on the float planes to the departure day. They handle your fish and even your pictures with the fish. As long as I can afford it, I will be back every year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfall Resort Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfall Resort Alaska

Address: 320 Dock St., Suite 222, Box 6440, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having hosted over 50,000 guests Waterfall Resort is the most popular fishing lodge in Alaska. Located by Southeast Alaska's famous Inside Passage near Ketchikan, just 90 minutes from Seattle, Waterfall Resort makes the spectacular wilderness of Alaska easy to access. Built in 1912, the historic record-breaking Alaskan salmon cannery on 52 acres of breathtaking coastal wilderness now serves as the location for the all inclusive sport fishing lodge, Waterfall Resort. The fish keep coming back every year, and so do our guests. Waterfall Resort delivers an all inclusive Alaska vacation, where our expert service takes care of all the details. Experienced guides accompany you on 25' heated cabin cruisers custom built for comfort, supporting anglers of all skill levels. We provide all the fishing equipment and gear, and we even process your catch for you back on shore so you can take your frozen fish home. Guests typically return with an average of 70 lbs of fillets! Waterfall Resort is situated in SE Alaska on the west coast of Prince of Wales Island, benefiting from ocean upwelling and nutrient rich waters that attract King Salmon, Silver Salmon, Halibut, Ling Cod and many more. This destination is a short scenic float plane ride over Alaska's Inside Passage from Ketchikan, which is only 90 minutes from Seattle. We host our own Alaska Airlines agent on site to make return flights and baggage check a snap. Easy travel means the resort is also ideal for hosting Corporate groups and events. Come join the legendary sport fishing fun at Waterfall Resort! Catch the Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Waterfall Resort Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfall Hotel Ketchikan
Waterfall Resort Alaska Ketchikan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfall Resort Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.