We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Best Western Hotel in the land!!! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 Tongass Ave., Ketchikan, AK 99901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST Best Western Hotel in the land!!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have ALWAYS enjoyed it .. the staff is wonderful, very friendly and always helpfull! and ... Best Western has the BEST beds in the country! I have a bad back and this is the ONLY hotel I will stay at .. unless I don't have a choice .. I will drive for miles looking for a BW hotel! Their rooms are large, always clean & well taken care of ... they have a free shuttle service, the ferry system to the airport is close and a restaurant/cocktail lounge is on site.

Room Tip: ALL rooms in new tower (which is where we always stay) .. are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to review our property on trip advisor. We also appreciate your loyalty to the Best Western brand. We are happy to hear you enjoy our stays with us and that we have furnished you with some valuable amenities with our beds and shuttle van. We look forward to your next visit with us. Linda Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    72
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
40
15
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coffman Cove, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

GREAT STAFF, very nice rooms and in a perfect location for easy access to the ferry systems, airport, grocery store and a drug store. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; what an asset the girls at the front desk, Franny and Mylene, are to this hotel. I was treated as if they had known me for years. The hotel has a downstairs restaurant as well as an upstairs Lounge/Pub and the staff and service was excellent in both areas. My room was wonderful, clean, well equipped and very roomy. I had the opportunity to view other rooms and they also looked very nice. To me, staying in a hotel isn't all about the room, it is how I am treated by the staff. I can't say enough good things about all of the staff I had the pleasure of dealing with during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that our staff treated you with friendly and were helpful to your needs. Franny and Mylene have been with us many years and we would be lost without them. They do a great job for us and they so much enjoy the interaction with the guests. We appreciate you recognizing them with such kind words. Our hotel as well as the Best Western brand has taken the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously with the ultimate clean program and we are glad you noticed. We look forward to seeing you again at the Best Western PLUS Landing when you are in Ketchikan. Have a great Holiday Season.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful rooms, clean, roomy and very nice and efficient staff. We stayed here twice while coming and going to POW. Very convenient to the ferry terminal and also the airport ferry. LOVED the free shuttle around town with the friendly and helpful drivers. The restaurants attached to the hotel were very nice (pricey but as was mentioned in another review ... that is Alaska). Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The newer building has an elevator ... big help when traveling with a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling to POW. As you mentioned the newer building does have an elevator as well as larger, spacious rooms. Although our East Wing also has an elevator and we have some very nice two room suites in that section. Our restaurants both offer a large variety of meals and are comparable in price to Seattle, Wash. We hope you had a great trip home and hope you will return to Ketchikan again soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

, near the airport, there is a real good address, the Landing, large, clean, quiet rooms, perfect service, including a free taxi-shuttle service to/from every place, friendly staff. look for a room in the new part.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our shuttle service as well as our staff.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to service your hospitatlity needs.
Thank you for your review.
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I should start out by saying I was in Ketch for work, so I didn't have to pay for my hotel. I was put in the newly renovated section and my room was fabulous! I typically don't sleep well using hotel pillows, but they had a note saying they had memory foam pillows available, so I called the front desk and they sent one up. It was just wonderful. And the room was large, had comfy chairs for lounging, and was clean. I was really impressed. Oh, and the staff in the downstairs restaurant was just lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We hope your work went well in Ketchikan. We are glad to hear you made use of our pillow menu to give you the extra special comfort you desired with your stay. It is always difficult to be away from your favorite pillow at home and we hope that the pillow menu helps you feel like you are at home away from home. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the large comfortable rooms we offer and that our staff make your stay pleasant.
Thank you!
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Pricey, but worth it. Then again, Alaska is. After spending 10 days on POW in less then accomodating conditions this place was heaven. Located just across street from ferry and minutes to airport its perfect for not having to get cab or rental car. We have stayed here on all trips to POW because of super rooms, location and service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to complete a review on our property. We appreciate your loyalty to us upon your return visits to Ketchikan. We hope to see you back in the very near future.
Thank you again!
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel

Address: 3434 Tongass Ave., Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 107 rooms and suites, this beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan. The extremely busy Landing Restaurant, open from 6am daily serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. Jeremiah's the upstairs pub featuring an open kitchen, casual dining, and is open till late. There is a cozy fireplace, full cocktail service, beers on tap and an outside deck overlooking the Tongass Narrows. The well appointed guest rooms and suites offer everything the discerning guest could need. There is high speed internet and complimentary wireless throughout the property, secure parking, a fitness center, business center, guest laundry, courtesy shuttle service and premium cable TV with HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.