We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creek Street is name correctly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creek Street

Creek Street
Ketchikan, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Ketchikan
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a red-light district, now an arts and crafts shopping area.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Creek Street is name correctly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice shops in this historic former red light district, the creek runs under the buildings. Salmon and seals can be seen in the creek, take married man trail to the fish ladder and see jumping fish. Married man trail is a short walk in the rainforest, we also took the lift up the hill for a great view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    263
    97
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henniker, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lots of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's the historic center of Ketchikan though all commerciailzed. THe old buildings have been nicely restored. THe creek itself is worth looking into. Some times during the summer it's chockerblock full of salmon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Alaskan Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I love local art, handmade items and special gifts for friends and family. I loved the quaint shops and truly authentic Alaskan treasures. I bought notes and envelopes for friends, special handmade small totem poles for us and the grandchildren. All the shop owners were very helpful if I wanted something, but didn't see it. Highly recommend this area to explore.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“NIce Walking Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited Ketchikan during our Alaskan cruise. We decided to do Ketchikan on our own, rather than book a cruise. There was a visitor's information office right at the dock. We picked up a brochure with a walking tour. We didn't do everything on the tour. We went to the fish ladder, and saw the salmon jumping, and working to get upstream. It was pretty amazing to see the perseverance of those fish! We also saw several totem poles along the way, and finished up at Creek Street. It had lots of stores. I'm not a big shopper, but we did buy some souvenirs. We ate at Halibut Hole, a very small, outdoor restaurant. The fish was delicious - deep fried. From Creek Street we took the funicular to the top of the mountain. There is a lodge up there with a small museum and some totem poles. The view of the harbor and town from up there was very nice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint and colourful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A real must do, if even just for the obligatory photo opportunity. Cute little shops and some very interesting window displays in a few of the former brothels! Creek was chock a block with salmon, quite amazing to watch. Could have spent a lot longer than an hour wandering around here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creek Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.