We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stretch Your Legs, See Salmon, & Visit Shops.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creek Street

Creek Street
Ketchikan, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Ketchikan
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a red-light district, now an arts and crafts shopping area.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Stretch Your Legs, See Salmon, & Visit Shops.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is an easy walk from the cruise ship dock area. Lots of family owned shops offering postcards, clothing, and tasty Alaskan delicacies. Depending on the time of year, you can see salmon in abundance. Be sure to add this fun area to your day in Ketchikan.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    267
    97
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Nice Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Creek Street is an easy walk from the waterfront. The buildings are well maintained. Not many were open, possibly too early in the morning. There are historical markers providing the colorful history of the area.

The creek is pretty with the salmon running. However, it is a fact of life that once they spawn, they die, so there are a lot of dead ones around, and the smell is not for those with weak stomachs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Colorful Collection of Storefronts with an Interesting History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We still had a few hours left in Ketchikan before sailaway after our morning floatplane ride, so while my husband went back to the ship to relax, I went to check out Creek Street to see what all the fuss was about.

What I found was a quaint group of colorful buildings which used to be a collection of bordellos back in the old days. Each building exterior displayed historical information pertaining to that building. Nowadays, the buildings are gift shops that sell a variety of merchandise - some touristy, but mostly arts and crafts by local artisans. Surprisingly, despite there being three ships in port, it wasn't all that crowded in the afternoon. I found most of the crowds to be shopping in town along the main street and was glad I went to Creek Street to buy my gifts. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours in the afternoon.

There were a few salmon swimming and jumping in the creek, but we were a bit early in the season, being the first week in August, which perhaps is the reason for the smaller crowds at Creek Street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to see salmon and learn some history. We were able to go on a nice sunny September day but most of the stores and restaurants seem to already be closed for the season. It was neat to learn the history of this street. The smell of dead salmon wasnt as nice but it is the salmon capital after all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A must see in Ketchikan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We wandered the 3 blocks straight up from the waterfront to Creek street early in the morning before our excursion and before the shops opened and the crowds hit the area. Watching the salmon run was pretty neat, but very sad too because of all the salmon that don't make it up the ladder. There were so many dead fish draped every where on the rocks and brush where their carcasses wash up when the water level goes down. It is the most interesting area of Ketchikan so you do want to stroll around the plank walkway.

Mostly souvenir stores, a couple of restaurants and local & not so local craft shops.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creek Street also viewed

 

Been to Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creek Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.