We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour

Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour
Main Cruise Dock, Berth 3-Tender Float, Ketchikan, AK 99901
+1 888-239-3816
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 76 activities in Ketchikan
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Come aboard the "Aleutian Ballad" crabbing vessel as seen on season 2 of the Discovery Channel's "Deadliest Catch". Depart Ketchikan Alaska for a 3.5 hour trip to catch king crab, snow crab, octopus, fish, prawns and more. This tour also features some of the best eagle viewing on the planet. Share the allure and adventure that draw fishermen to the sea. Fishing legends that have worked the Bering Sea are your guides, some you may have seen on TV. The vessel has been retrofitted for guests comfort and fun, with a "live" tank on deck to allow for closer viewing of the wondrous creatures brought on board. Guests stay warm, dry and comfortable while we sail calm and protected waters. This is the REAL ALASKA and you won't want to miss it!
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Loved this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I love the Deadliest Catch..I was thrilled to meet Derek..This tour is a must if you are in the area.. You feel like you are really a part of it.. The three guys on the boat are so entertaining. The boat is comfortable and perfect for an afternoon on the water.. You get to see creatures up close and that is fun too..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    17
    3
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best of Alaska!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was one of our favorite parts of a recent trip to Alaska!

The guides are friendly, have great stories to share, and it is fun to see some TV personalities in person :-)

Despite the name of the tour, you don't actually venture into the Bering Sea, but stay much closer to land. The boat is very calm, even better than our cruise ship. There are heaters above the seats, which make the ride more comfortable. The hot chocolate, coffee, and tea are also great. Overall, we loved this tour and would be happy to go again.

If you are coming in on a cruise ship, book DIRECTLY with the company! They docked at the same dock as our ship, so it was a 10 yard walk for everyone. We saved $25pp by booking directly, and got exactly the same experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went with kids 8, 11, and 13 plus two grandparents. Everyone had a good time. They do a very good job of making you feel welcome, showing you the sea creatures, and talking about their experiences. Two of my kids got to sit up in the wheelhouse as the boat came into the dock. They loved that.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Just right for a port of call”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The success of the Deadliest Catch series made this a ready made attraction for young kids and adults alike. Great introduction to the fishery ecosystem and watching the crew haul gear and talk about the catch. Not for the faint of heart if you don't like watching fish caught and processed into bait. We had great weather and the crew was very entertaining. The best part was the feeding of the eagles where you need to have a camera and video ready for a spectacular sight of dozens of bald eagles swooping in on fish thrown out by the crew. Bring a telephoto lens as well to get grat shots of them on the island.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Deadliest Catch Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The guys running this tour are interesting and have a lot of good stories. It was a very rainy day in Ketchikan but the boat has a cover to protect you from the elements. Get to see them haul in several different types of crab. Also saw a large squid and starfish. Along the way, caught some whales and eagles. I think kids would get a kick out of it as you get right into the action of holding the crabs. Open to taking photos and ship is fun to explore. Btw, the heads on board are impeccably clean and appointed...very nice for the women on board!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour to your Saves list