We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   47004 Emery Street, Kenai, AK 99611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Kenai B&B and Inns
Columbia City
2 reviews
“Perfect Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a quick get away, do some fishing, visit friends, maybe see some sights. George and Tina made our stay so very special. The location was perfect, as the grounds were beautifully surrounded by nature and the accommodations were five star. We could have slept in every morning, if it wasn't for the wonderful homemade breakfast that was provided. Our room was so clean, quiet, and comfortable. Both of us enjoyed meeting other guests, as well as driving around to look at the magnificent local scenery as suggested by the owners, who were extremely knowledgeable and resourceful. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: One room upstairs and one room downstairs have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kizzi, Owner at Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are sincerely appreciative.
Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Seven of us arrived at the Blonde Bear at various hours of the day and night. We were all greeted as family and treated with a smile and wonderful service and meals. Rooms are clean, bright and adorable. Breakfast with blueberry pancakes and etc were "out of this world" - Even took some in our group on fishing, bear and wolf expeditions. George and Tina Showalter were outstanding hosts.
For a fun and memorable - great outdoor experience in the Kenai Woods, AK you can not beat the Blonde Bear.
Betty B and friends.

Room Tip: All great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E, Owner at Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Blonde Bear Bed and Breakfast, we truly enjoyed sharing our Alaskan B & B with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Blonde Bear! The house is gorgeous and unique, breakfast was delicious every day and George could not be more kind, helpful or informed about everything in Alaska! They run a truly wonderful establishment and we can’t recommend them enough for your stay. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kizzi, Owner at Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have great company. Our Bed and Breakfast you arrive as guests and depart as friends. Thank you again for staying at our B & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have been staying with George and Tina each August for 3 years now. They are like
family to me. Every mid Aug, we come here to bear view and fish. And every Aug, Tina makes sure we have our same room, opens up her freezer to make room for our catch, and books our charters for us. Customer service is the top priority in their book. I look forward each year to the good food, (she makes a killer breakfast) and the great company.
The rooms are so comfortable we don't want to leave. And there is wireless internet if you need it. I could sit here and right praise after praise, but I will end it with, if you stay here once, you will NEVER stay anywhere else in this region. This is my home away from home.

Room Tip: Wireless internet, nice cozy rooms, the beds are comfortable and have good mattress one them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I were stopping at Kenai on our way to Homer and Seldovia. There is not a lot in Kenai, so finding the Blonde Bear was a real treat. It's a B&B with a homey atmosphere and great hospitality. The rooms are clean, nice and well appointed - the breakfast is great and you feel right at home here.

I don't think you'll find a better place in Kenai ...

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite, but all the rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great place to stay if you are in the Kenai, Alaska area. Well decorated clean rooms. We chose a room with a private bath. Woke up to a great breakfast. Waffles with home made raspberry syrup, sausage and fresh fruit one day, pancakes and ham with fresh fruit the next. The blueberry pomegranate juice is excellent. In the evening we were offered a glass of wine or a beer along with George's smoke Salmon. Good stuff, I must say. Great view from the morning breakfast table. Mother moose and her two calfs carelessly walking through the back yard. Made for some great pictures. Free WiFi worked very well. Tina and George have a first rate operation. I would rate this a nine out of ten only because the exterior could use some sprucing up. Well worth the money however.

Jerry and Deb Rosinski
Temperance Michigan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

This was a great place to stay. It's a big log-cabin style house in a quiet, rural area, away from the mad crowds of fisherman near the Kenai river.

The room was very comfortable, clean, nice linens, towels etc. The couple that ran the B&B were extremely friendly and generous with their time. Breakfast was home-made waffles, sausages, good strong coffee and juice. Hot and cold cereals etc. are also available. There are always snacks on offer - muffins, crumbles, cheesecake, plus beer and wine to drink, all for no extra charge.

All in all I was delighted, particularly after some less-than-stellar experiences with B&B elsewhere in Alaska.

The house is located near Captain Cooke State park, beautiful beaches and hiking opportunities, and close to the salmon rivers. The lodge has a well-tended garden, is surrounded by trees, and is close to a lake. During my visit I saw bear, bald eagle and moose and ate good food locally. There is also a small brewery a few blocks away.

The only possible drawback might be for a business traveler there is no internet connection (though they do have a computer in the house that you could use to check email in a pinch)

I was very happy with this stay.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — Everything was very nice
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast

Address: 47004 Emery Street, Kenai, AK 99611
Location: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kenai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blonde Bear Bed and Breakfast is located in Kenai, Alaska. Offering travelers relaxing country lodging / accommodations with Alaskan atmosphere. We specialize in Alaskan Sourdough hospitality and look forward to helping our guests have a magnificent Alaskan experience. Wake up to a hearty Alaskan style breakfast, then get out and enjoy what the Kenai Peninsula has to offer. Then at the end of your day, relax in the plush grounds of the Blonde Bear around the outdoor fire pit with Alaskan treats made right here in the great land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast Kenai, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.