We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Creek Retreat

Save Saved
You added Crooked Creek Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooked Creek Retreat
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   59325 Sterling Highway, PO Box 1190, Kasilof, AK 99610   |  
Hotel amenities
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Alaska is truly an amazing place that everyone should visit at least one time in their lifetime. Based on your need of adventure it has something for everyone. From turn-key easy to the most challenging adventures, Alaska has it all. We have made several trips to the far North West. Truly Alaska remains at the top of our list for fishing destinations and sightseeing.

This year my wife and I made a return visit to the Kenai Peninsula. It had been several years since our last visit to the Soldotna area. The drive down the Sterling Highway (Rt. 1) from Anchorage to Soldotna was just as spectacular as we recalled, from our last visit.

We made our fishing arrangements through Russell Fishing Company, Inc. and stayed at the newly constructed lodge of Crooked Creek. Arrived at Crooked Creek on 6/30/12 and depart 6/09/12, for six nights of lodging, including all meals, four days of guided fishing and plenty of peace and relaxation.

The Crooked Creek Lodge and staff are all extremely professional in their operation. The log designed lodge is top notch, very comfortable, extremely clean, and very roomy. The food was superb from breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Dinners consisted of appetizers (fresh clam soup, salmon spread, etc), entrées of (fish, beef and chicken), and scrumptious disserts topped off each meal. No one walked away from the table hungry.

Our guides throughout the week were from Russell Fishing Company, Inc. They were very professional and knew the area and waterways very well. From float trips on the Kenai and Kasilof Rivers for King Salmon, to halibut on Cook Inlet out of Anchor Point to the fly-in at Wolverine Creek for Sockeye all were well planned and easily accessible from the lodge. Based on your fishing and / or sightseeing request an itinerary was posted, at the lodge, nightly for confirmation. Fish were cleaned, vacuum-packed, frozen, and boxed for the return flight home.

There was plenty of wildlife to be seen and captured in photos, from the nightly moose behind the lodge and along the roadways, the occasional caribou to the grizzly bears at Wolverine Creek. Again, the scenery is spectacular, from free flowing rivers, snow capped mountains, ice covered glaciers, and low lying tundra.

There is absolutely no doubt that we had a very big time and our only regret is that it passed so quickly. Make a call, send an email to Crooked Creek or Russell Fishing Company, Inc and plan a vacation in Alaska.

"What the imagination cannot conceive, reality will provide." (J&J)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ventura county
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our first experience visiting Alaska was via a cruise, and we knew we wanted to come back and see more. We had no idea where to start looking! We searched the Internet and read Trip Advisor’s reviews of different areas. We found the book called The Milepost which is a must-have before you go. After doing this research and talking with friends that have been to Alaska, we knew we wanted to go to the Kenai Peninsula. But where to stay? With 23 positive reviews, and 1 negative on Trip Advisor for Crooked Creek, we figured the one negative must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. We were right. We started communicating with Auntie Dorothy months before we stayed at her beautiful retreat. She was instrumental in helping us plan for our trip! We knew we wanted to do some fishing along with some sight-seeing. We relied on her suggestions and they were spot-on. We ended up on 4 fishing trips with Russell Fishing Company (which we would recommend), Kasilof River drift, Kenai River power boat, Halibut Fishing out of Anchor Point, and a fly-out with Alaska Air. To give some insight on how this worked in our case was that we showed up at the lodge, and Auntie Dorothy and Jessica from Russell Fishing took care of the rest. They put us on fish every day! Auntie Dorothy and staff also gave us suggestions on where to go when we weren’t fishing. Our choices were the Kenai Fjords expedition, a river raft float trip, and exploring the local area based on Auntie Dorothy’s suggestions. To say the least, this was a phenomenal adventure. Now, about the lodge, when you read all the reviews that tell you that the food is great, the staff is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, etc, it is all true. For just relaxing, you can read a book in their library, go play horseshoes by the creek, or sit out at the fire-pit and tell fish stories. One of the best things that happened for us was hanging out with all the other guests, having a beer, and hearing about their adventures. We would definitely go back to the Crooked Creek Retreat, and hope to soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was an amazing stay, From the amazing service, perfect location, great accomodations to the best meals available. Our arrival at midnight didn't stop Auntie Dorothy from staying up late to greet us, and also, Jessica was up bright and early to make sure we had our fishing license. To be able to be minutes away from all the action, made it a great part of the trip, we were within minutes from the Kasilof river and Kenai river made the early mornings more pleasent. Just a few more minutes and we were in salt water fishing where we had great guides at all times. The Crooked Creek Retreat also provides the fishing guides with Russell Fishing Co right on site. All you need is say what you want to catch and they take you right to it. Great bunch of guides!! The log cabin is amazing, if you take a minute to look at the support logs you will see amazing engineering and architecture working together yet seemless to the eye. Huge areas to relax so you don't have to fight for a good spot, with 8,000 square feet you will find "your favorite spot". I don't remember the last time I ate 3 great meals per day, from eggs benedict for breakfast, to a lunch box while your fish yet, when you come exhausted from a long day of fishing, you are greeted with your own appetizer (killer clam chowder- with fresh clams from the day before!!) to perfect salads, main dish I wont tell you wat it is but be prepared to finish your plate... everything was as good as a 5 star restaurant and make sure you ask for the Coconut crust fresh frout ice creamn pie. I am not huge on desserts but that was really amazing.

All in all IO would highly recommend Crooked Creek Retreat, the only thing that I would change is the name to Crooked Creek RESORT!!

Room Tip: Loved the lodge room, you have a back door to the patio and creek very nice to chill after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Well my friend and I decided we guys would go to Alaska and do a week of fishing followed by our wives coming up a week later for some sight seeing and a minor amount of fishing. After our first day it was clear these was no regular place. I have stayed over 1,000 nights at various hotels and bed & breakfasts around the world and my expectations for Kasilof Alaska were normal. Corrked Creek Resort exceeded my expectations on every dimension. The staff and management at Crooked Creek Resort were fantastic. The cooking was top notch and the accomodations were also excellent. We were treated to a first class, all-inclusive (except drinks) stay and when our wives arrived in Alaska they loved Crooked Creek Resort too!

If what you want is a first class stay with great food in a lovely log home all while you are visiting Alaska - - this is your place

We leave tomorrow after 10 days here, I am wondering how we can take the staff with us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Alaska is such an amazing place, beautiful mountains, rivers, ocean and wildlife. Our time at Crooked Creek Retreat will forever be one of our best vacation memories. Auntie Dorothy, and her staff are great hosts and made us feel like we were part of the family. We were spoiled with 5 star meals daily,never a lack of food. Be careful you will gain at least 5 lbs, I know this first hand. We had an amazing trip and are already planning our trip back next year! Oh and a special unexpected treat, we had a momma moose and her two babies visit the creek behind the property and we could see them off our balcony,truely amazing! Every one should plan a trip to Alaska and if you can stay with Auntie Dorothy at Crooked Creek Retreat,don't forget your camera!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the creek view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Although we were to be in Alaska on business this trip, we made the relaxing drive from Anchorage to Kasilof to enjoy Crooked Creek Retreat, instead of a hotel. The lodge is ideally positioned on the Kenia Penninsula, near the famous fishing grounds of Soldotna, Homer, Anchor Point and a short trek (and beautiful drive) over to Seward. When you pull into the drive, you will notice the amount of care and attention that Auntie Dorothy, family and staff have made, on behalf of those that are lucky enough (or had the keen insight to book multiple times!) to stay at the lodge. Arrive early or arrive late, something is always waiting for you, snacks, dinner, horseshoes, fire pit, the sound of Crooked Creek, amazaing deck space or even just watching a local moose graze with her young calves. Did I forget the fishing, well that is all taken care of as well! Halibut, Salmon, Trout on the many rivers and the ocean so tell Auntie what you like and she will arrange it, if you want to try something for the first time like a fly-out to view bears or an up close look at glaciers, let her know that too. The fishing guides and lodge staff will truly take great care of you. Oh the FOOD, well you must try that for yourself! The one-stop shop with customized packagages for your stay on the Kenai Peninsula is a true "retreat" just a few miles past Soldotna, accross the Kasilof River and on the banks of Crooked Creek!

Room Tip: you can't beat the Lodge Room, unless I am in town...that is always mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinley Park, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

A small group of us stayed here for the Tustumena Sled Dog Race is January of 2010 and we all thought it was great! "Aunt" Dorothy was a very welcoming on our arrival and wanted to make sure everything was just perfect for us. We had a very large bedroom downstairs and I couldn't believe it when I walked in to the bathroom and there were robes! Wow. Clean linens every day and a very comfy bed. Hot tub outside... she even had extra tooth brushes as one of our crew forgot theirs. There was coffee, tea and water available at all times and the food was excellent! It was the first time that I tried Eggs Benedict and she got me hooked! All meals were excellent! Very friendly, warm atmosphere... would definitely love to visit again - perhaps in the summer next time so as to do a bit of fishing. Go visit and say Hi to Aunt Dorothy and her dog Clyde. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crooked Creek Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Retreat

Address: 59325 Sterling Highway, PO Box 1190, Kasilof, AK 99610
Location: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Kasilof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooked Creek Retreat 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Alaskan Fishing Lodge - not just a room. Handcrafted Douglas Fir logs. We are centrally located on Crooked Creek. We fish salt and fresh water. Fishing guides on site. Halibut and multi species trips. Trout, Salmon and steelhead fishing. Campfires, soaring ceilings, filled with Alaskan art, Antiques and Memorabilia. Complete meal service, home made desserts, breads and our famous sweet cream muffins. Complete outfitters, we book all tours, fly outs, fjords cruises, kayaks, horseback riding. We have a large hot tub, horseshoes, and Hammocks in the trees. Large decks, balconies, patios, beautiful flowers and wildlife. Bears, moose and many different birds. Dedicated to complete guest service. Known as the nicest lodge on the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crooked Creek Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Retreat Kasilof, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Creek Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.