We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
2358 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Juneau
Inverness, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Different, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were not sure what to expect since this hotel certainly does not look like a Best Western but it worked out well. First off, the young ladies who work there are all very helpful and professional. I guess at one time this place was a restaurant and was converted to a hotel. We had asked for a first floor room since there was no elavator. We got he first room off the front desk, 132 or 32 not sure. Anyway, the odd thing is the bed had a solid canopy over it with a flat screen mounted inside it. Come to find out this used to be the salad bar! We have stayed in alot of places but this was the first time we have ever slept in the salad bar, quite a hoot. Rooom was nice but kind of noisey since it backed up to kitchen. You may want to opt for other side and just ask to see the "salad bar". Nice and clean room and great people.

Room Tip: If you follow Mendihal Loop Road toward Juneau, when it comes to a "T" there is a McDonald...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. With 14 rooms decorated and designed uniquely, Grandma's is a charming place to stay while on business or pleasure. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    35
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
81
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I (60s) stayed here for 4 nights in May before boarding The Boat Cruise. This place was amazing. First of all, it's near the airport, so if you don't have tons of luggage you can practically walk there from the airport. Check-in is like walking into the foyer of someone's home. The rooms are adorable. Looks like each one is a little different, but they look like a guest room in the home of one of those wonderful big houses in New England. Lots of room to move around and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for your clothing, nice big counter around the sink to lay out all your toiletries and so forth. Oh and the comfortable beds-----wow! I slept like a baby. Unfortunately, I had to have a tooth extracted while in Juneau. Not only did these people direct me to a good dentist but they pampered me after the extraction, got ice for me, made sure food was soft enough for me to chew, etc. Speaking of the food, the breakfasts were to die for, everything made to order and served with great care and concern. Breakfast comes with the room but we ended eating dinner every night at Grandma's too, because it was just so good. King salmon so fresh that it flaked off your fork! They have a shuttle going into town on the odd hour, that took us everywhere we needed go. Everyone at the front desk greeted us every time we came in and helped us tremendously with our activity schedule, great suggestions and knowledge about the area. It was like having your own hostess/travel agent/friend all rolled into one. Would I go back here? In a heartbeat! As a matter of fact, we passed thru Juneau on the way home from our boat cruise and we had several hours layover in the morning, so we walked out of the airport and straight to Grandma's for what we knew would be a great breakfast and it was. They were happy to see us again too. Go to Grandma's. This place is a bed and breakfast and the only one Best Western has. Something really special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and in-depth review of our property, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. Our entire staff sincerely thanks you for your kind remarks about the service and accommodations. The satisfaction of every individual guest is very important to us and we are pleased that we achieved this goal. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Close to airport. Has a shuttle that will pick you up and take you to down town and places in between. People who work there could not be more pleasant and accommodating. Clean rooms, plenty of towels and quite comfortable. The rooms have different configurations so you might want to look at your room before moving in to be sure that the configuration suits you..

Room Tip: There is access to a nearby fitness center available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We highly value your feedback concerning the service, staff and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you enjoyed Grandma’s unique charm. As you mentioned we are fortunate to have many different room configurations. Our staff is always willing to accommodate requests and help our guests find the right “room” for them. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay in May was an enjpyable experience. the hotel itself and our room were very well equipped with nice facilities.
The food in the Restaurant (we had 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts) was very enjoyable with a good range and very large portions. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and most helpful advising of places to see.
We would recommend Grandmas to certain of our friends, but not to our Grandma, she would have trouble getting on to the bed as did I only being 5'3'' maybe some steps would have been helpful, also I requested extra piloows which we didn't get.
Though this didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. We highly value your feedback concerning the service, staff and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you enjoyed Grandma’s unique charm. We are fortunate to have many different room configurations. Our staff would be happy to show you other rooms should we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our three-night fray at Grandma's. the rooms are quaintly decorated with dressers, side tables, a wardrobe and a round table with arm chairs. The rooms have a large, and I do mean large, whirlpool in an alcove at the end of the bedroom. The place has been designed for comfort and having stayed at four other hotels and inns in Juneau, the is definitely the friendliest and most comfortable. We love this small hotel that's about 3.7 miles from scenic Mendenhall Glacier.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and accommodations. Our goal is to consistently provide you with outstanding service each and every visit. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of the few places where the rooms looked as nice as the internet photos, kudos. Our room was very nice and quaint. The restaurant they have here was awesome and was even recommended by the one of the locals here in town. The service from the staff was excellent. We definitely recommend staying here. They also offer a shuttle service to and from town and to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments concerning the staff, service and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you were able to enjoy Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My partner reserved this place and I was actually very keen to stay here seeing it's highly recommended by other reviewers here.

It's a rather oddly put together from the outside in; the room with stairs to the in room jacuzzi surrounded by carpeting instead of slip-resistant tiles, stairs to their toilet which was not insulated with cold floor and walls, the sink was separate at the top of the stairs. There are windows looking into the hallway. The LCD TV monitor was mounted crooked. The bed's height was much higher than normal that I had to hop up onto the bed. After taking a jacuzzi which was too tight for two overweight people, the humidity was uncomfortably high that we left the room. There's a table in the room that was square and not really adequate for a decent desktop workspace. There's a mini-fridge and an old dial face microwave. I had my laptop and wanted to hookup to their monitor with my HDMI cable but no convenient AC outlet was readily available until I moved the mini-fridge out of it's position to find an AC outlet to power my laptop. Wi-fi worked fine throughout the hotel. Complimentary shuttle service available by advanced reservation and to/from the airport.

Breakfast was included and comprised of two parts. The first part is what is presented in the dining area with coffee, heavy pitchers of juices, yogurt, fresh sliced fruit, cold cereal, milk, overly sweet cut-up muffins, cut-up pastries. The second part consists of any three items from that list may be ordered such as pancakes, eggs, omelet, potatoes, toast. The toast was burnt, the omelet fair. No tea was seen.

Just because it's recommended highly by others here, it's still only a guide and it's my own experience that matters to me/us in the end. Bottom line, not recommendable by us to stay here, this place could use a serious makeover from Bauer/Clifton. Look elsewhere for a more conventional lodging for less.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sorry to learn of your experience during your recent stay at our property. It is unfortunate that the first time we heard of your dissatisfaction was from your review here on Trip Advisor. This type of feedback is rare for our property, but we will use it to improve in any way that we can. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your level of expectation for this particular stay. Grandma’s Feather Bed was originally built as a restaurant and later converted to a country inn with 14 rooms. We feel that this unique layout is part of Grandma’s charm. We are fortunate to have many different room configurations. Our staff would be happy to show you other rooms should we have the opportunity to welcome you back. If you would like to discuss your stay with us further please contact me directly at 907-789-5005.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Address: 2358 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed, the smallest hotel in the world's largest hotel chain, comes complete with deluxe suites and is the perfect place for a weekend getaway in beautiful Juneau, Alaska. All 14 guest rooms are designed especially to meet your vacationing needs. Each guest room are designated non-smoking with single queen feather beds for the ultimate in comfort. Sink into your in-room Jacuzzi and let the comfort take you away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grandma`s Feather Hotel Juneau
Best Western Juneau
Best Western Hotel Juneau
Juneau Best Western
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.