We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN JUNEAU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
2358 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Juneau
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN JUNEAU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Grandma's is most likely the best place to stay in Juneau, and probably the entire South East. Among other amenities they offer free coffee in the morning and free shuttle service. And, their breakfast is probably the best in town…and it is gratis for guests! This is the only place I will stay or recommend in Juneau.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger then others so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We appreciate your comments concerning the staff, service and accommodations at our property. Seeing comments such as yours is very rewarding and motivating to everyone involved. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
86
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. I loved the free wifi, computer and printer, free breakfast. The best of all was the large jacuzzi tubs in the room. This is the perfect palce to unwind in Juneau.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our property. We highly value your feedback concerning the service and accommodations at our property. We are pleased you enjoyed Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had to come to Juneau for a personal business matter and as this was our first time ever to Alaska and Juneau at that! We looked online for things to do and places to stay before we left and found this to be a good place. Far from anything we could ever imagine! Not only did we take care of our personal business but had so much fun too! The staff were so friendly and the food was amazing! We enjoyed our stay and with a busy little 4 year old that liked to pour cereal, coffee, milk, juice and more then get to order pancakes to pour syrup....hahahaha....and on top of all that the staff was so kind! We enjoyed our beautiful room, the wonderful rides downtown and to places in the valley! This personal business trip turned into a delightful fun and amazing adventure! Thank you Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed.... your staff and property is amazing and perfect touch of the at home feeling! We felt very blessed and honored to be a guest at your beautiful bed and breakfast! We can't wait to visit again in the future! The best thing is that with the way customer service has been declini g over the past few years it was absolutely amazing to be treated with such amazing kindness and like we were truly the guests at Grandma's Feather Bed! Thank you so much! If you are looking for a place to stay in Juneau you will be very sorry if you don't stay here... it will exceed you expectations by far! ♥ thank you for taking such good care of us! We had fun and gained many good memories to last a lifetime! We stayed for a few nights and had great times!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We highly value your feedback concerning the service and accommodations at our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Seeing comments such as yours is very rewarding and motivating to everyone involved. We are pleased we were able to meet your needs for this particular trip. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want that homey feeling while on vacation or visiting friends this is the place to stay. the staff is nice, friendly and accommodating, the rooms are not only beautiful and uniquely decorated with jacuzzi but comfy and lovely with a welcoming atmosphere that makes a person feel warm inside. They have and adorable little restaurant with delicious food. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. I will be going back and I highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property. We are always striving for excellent customer service in both our hotel and restaurant. It continues to be our goal and priority to make every stay a memorable one. We are glad you could appreciate Grandma’s unique charm. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is one of the best kept secrets in Juneau. This is the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are all decorated in their own unique style. I did feel like I was visiting my grandmothers house like years ago. They have a restaurant that serves a nice menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. Grandma's is a charming place to stay while on business or pleasure. Our staff strives to make every stay comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I think I've stayed in just about every hotel / motel in Juneau and this week I was delighted to discover the Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed! What a nice treat!! I stay in a different hotel every week and they're all pretty much the same, but Grandma's Feather Bed is truly unique. This former restaurant is really a fun stay -- every room is different, but all have very deep, jetted soaking tubs, wonderful beds, reliable wifi / internet access, and lots of quiet. It's a great place to work, but I'd be very comfortable bringing my husband back for a vacation stay. The staff seems quite young, but very dedicated to making guests feel welcome and ensuring every need is met. There's a small restaurant attached that provides good, solid food options and breakfast is free with your stay. A very, very nice option in Juneau. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room that used to house the salad bar -- very unique arrangement, but fun! I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our property, the Best Western Grandma’s Feather Bed. We highly value your feedback concerning the service and accommodations at our property. The staff at Grandma’s is always striving for excellent customer service. It continues to be our goal and priority to make every stay a memorable one. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The service of all staff members was excellent. The waitstaff in the dinning room were friendly, quick, and helpful. Checkin/out staff were also very nice. The room was clean and smelled great. The jacuzzi bathtub was great fun for a valentine's weekend away. The food was excellent, especially compared to some restaurants in Juneau. The bed was a little stiff for my liking but still comfortable with the feather down blankets and pillows. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the stairs and the ice freezer was just down the hall along with a soda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja C, Customer Service Mgr. at BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property. We are always striving for excellent customer service in both our hotel and restaurant. With our restaurant open to the public Monday thru Saturday, we hope to see your family and friends back soon. Look for our daily specials which can include local seafood and freshly ground hamburgers. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed

Address: 2358 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Grandma's Feather Bed, the smallest hotel in the world's largest hotel chain, comes complete with deluxe suites and is the perfect place for a weekend getaway in beautiful Juneau, Alaska. All 14 guest rooms are designed especially to meet your vacationing needs. Each guest room are designated non-smoking with single queen feather beds for the ultimate in comfort. Sink into your in-room Jacuzzi and let the comfort take you away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grandma`s Feather Hotel Juneau
Best Western Juneau
Best Western Hotel Juneau
Juneau Best Western
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.