We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place to stay in the Mendenhall valley.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Juneau

Super 8 Juneau
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Juneau to your Saves list
Super 8 Juneau
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2295 Trout Street, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An OK place to stay in the Mendenhall valley.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Juneau/Mendenhall Super 8 is ok. It won't impress, but it won't repulse you, either. Bed was comfortable and clean and the bath was in good shape. There is also a pretty good cafe nearby, as well as gas and a convenience store. You can find better, but the Super 8 is resonable both in price and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the entrance side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    60
    25
    33
See reviews for
51
31
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On the two different dates we stayed at the Juneau Super 8, the room did not have a screen on the window. The first time the maintenance worker did bring a screen up to us. The second time, we had to go get the screen ourselves and put it in. It was so warm in the rooms that the window had to be kept open. However, this allowed cigarette smoke from the room below to come in. Luckily, we travel with our on fan. The hotel should have those provided. Also had very long waits for the shuttles. The only reason I would recommend anyone stay there is because it is the best price in town that we can find. It is a very noisy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Juneau, General Manager at Super 8 Juneau, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stays with us. I did want to mention that our hotel does offer fans to guests, all you have to do is ask. Unfortunately the town of Juneau, Alaska really doesn't use air conditioning and we do recognize that we've had some very warm days this summer season and our rooms can get warm, requiring the window to stay open to bring in the fresh air.

My apologies that your second visit not only brought you the same issue with a window screen missing, but that it was not resolved quickly for you. I do remember the request and it should have been handled immediately.

And please know, we do recognize that this season we have had a couple of peak period concerns with the shuttle timeliness. Our town is lucky that another airline has joined the existing one that brings guests to us...however their arrival times were arranged to be at the same time plus we have a ferry in a few days a week (also at the same time period). This has caused some headaches not only for area hotels shuttle service but also taxi services, and the timeliness they can provide at those times as well. Rest assured we are working as quickly as we can (engaging both our shuttle and taxis) during these peak periods. As we look forward to our next summer season, determining how to avoid this concern, especially if the same ferry/flight arrival times are utilized, will be a high priority for us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns, it is truly appreciated.

Rachael Ray, GM
(907) 789-4858
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The rooms are large and beds are comfy. Also the complimentary breakfast is good. The motel is located close to the airport and is on the way from the ferry to downtown. We reserved two rooms but to our surprise the receptionist informed us that our reservation was changed to only one from. We arrived to the hotel at 1 am and the hotel was fully booked. The receptionist was not really helpful in this situation and did not offer any solution. We decided to stay in one room and asked for an extra bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Juneau, General Manager at Super 8 Juneau, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of the situation you experienced during your recent stay with us. It should not have occurred. I would really like to know more details, if you have the time to share them with me. Please rest assured, I will address our front desk staff to ensure this type of situation does not happen again. My sincere apologies and I hope that this did not hamper your trip and the time spent here too much.

Sincerely,

Rachael Ray, GM
(907) 789-4858
super8jun@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I spend an average of about 50 nights a year in a hotel room and can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have stayed in in the past several years. While the staff was courteous, there is little they could do to make up for the condition of this property. Filthy would be an understatement, the bed spread had several burn marks/holes and the box spring was so filthy it was just plain gross. I guess I expected more from a Wyndham property.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Juneau, General Manager at Super 8 Juneau, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review although we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not going to disagree with you about the condition of our hotel. It is older and definitely needs updating, to which we have already started to do (the bedspread you mention has been removed.) Our housekeepers work very hard at ensuring you arrive to a clean room but it is hard to see that sometimes, given the age of the furnishings.

Our new property owner will be refurbishing the hotel so by this time next year, we will look like a completely different hotel. Our staff is very excited to get everything done and to share the updates with all of our guests. In the meantime, we do offer a clean, comfortable stay at one of the lowest prices in town with complimentary amenities such as a continental breakfast, shuttle service and wi-fi.

Thank you again.

Rachael Ray, GM
(907) 789-4858
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The pros are the shuttle, pretty good b'fast, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. The cons are tired and somewhat rundown feel to the place. My room was remodeled it seems, but some of the lights didn't work, the bathtub was worn; there were bits of debris on the bed sheets (not bugs), unwelcome perfumy smell in the halls. The carpeting may have been chosen not to show dirt, but unfortunately just looked dirty. Stayed two nights, but after the first night, no cleaning or maid service--appears the room was forgotten. Got an unwelcome wake-up call at 4:30 am, the first night--didn't ask for one.
It is an easy walk to a bus stop for downtown Juneau or Mendenhall glacier (though one has to walk a mile or so to the glacier still.) Fred Meyer is an easy walk too.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the road and traffic is noisy, especially if you open the windows. Can't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Juneau, General Manager at Super 8 Juneau, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you the time for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced while staying at our hotel. First, my apologies that you experienced a couple of concerns with your room during your stay. If you have have the opportunity, I would appreciate a few more moments of your time so I can research the situation and address it properly. Additionally, I will address the housekeeping staff overall.

We also wanted to acknowledge that we are aware of the carpet needing to be replaced and rest assured, we will be doing so in the very near future as we are preparing to be refurbished. Our hope that when it's completed, you will take the opportunity to come visit us again.

Thank you again for the feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests!

Rachael Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, MN.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very basic motel. Reasonably clean rooms/property except for the windows, which were so filthy that you could hardly see out of them.. Beds very hard, as were pillows. The best thing about this motel is the staff. They went above and beyond for me. Taxis are difficult to come by in Juneau and when the manager( Nicole) tried to call one for me and was told it could be a couple of hours before one could come, she asked her airport van driver to take me to my destination downtown, which is a 9 mile drive. Very grateful for the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This has been the worst stay I have ever had. The staff was very rude and used a lot of profanity along with making the guest wait for service. They did not have uniforms and the staff stayed on site and would come to the lobby in pajamas. Our keys kept deactivating and we would have to keep getting them reprogramed everyday. The staff said it was our fault because we put the keys next to our cell phones or credit cards. This couldn't be true because we left one in the room instead of taking with us to see if it was true after the first day, but still all our keys still deactivated. Our beds had brown stains on them and housekeeping came into our room even though we had a no service sign on our door. On another occurrence when I asked for new towels from the housekeeper in the hall she told me they didn't have anymore because they where in the wash and she didn't seem to care I needed more. Another housekeeper came down the hall and told the first housekeeper her uncle was at the front desk and off they both went. I never heard back about the towels. When I was down at the front desk another guest came in and told the front desk agent that someone had left their lights on in there car and gave them the license plate number. I was in the lobby for another half an hour and recalled the front desk agent not doing anything about the car with the lights on. Why do we give our license plate numbers at check in again? When I talked to the General Manager about what had happened she didn't seem to really care about what had happened and told me a ridiculous story her staff had told her. She said the hotel has been up for sale for a long time and she would say things are worn there and needs improvement. Seems like the staff does whatever they want and she doesn't have a clue. This was our family vacation and everything else but our hotel stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Juneau, General Manager at Super 8 Juneau, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
My apologies to you that your stay was not what you had hoped for...we certainly want to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. As we discussed, we couldn't provide all of the services you had wanted and you did certainly make sure you left us a poor review. Since you've done so, and as I shared with you when we talked, I'd like to address your concerns:

- First, of course I care...if I didn't care, I wouldn't have reached out to discuss the situation that occurred during your stay. And the situation in question happened late at night. Unfortunately I am not available to work a 24/7 hour shift so yes, there are some things that will occur outside of my working hours.
- The housekeeping situation has been addressed...that person is no longer working for our hotel and we are truly sorry that they didn't take care of your request immediately, as they should've done.
- Yes, we do recognize that we are in need of refurbishing...which we are preparing to do.
- Unfortunately not every guest provides us their vehicle information, even though we do ask at check in. The owner of the vehicle in question did not, and since we couldn't contact every room because of the hour, we didn't have any way to identify who the car belonged to...a guest or a guest of a guest.

And my suggestion, in the future, please do not leave your small child alone in your hotel room. My Assistant Manager, who luckily happened to be staying at our hotel, was able to come downstairs and take care of your son who came looking for his mother. We waited 15 minutes before you came back to the hotel in an effort to try to avoid contacting the authorities. While we do understand, during your conversation with us, that at the hotel you currently work at you allow your guests to do that all of the time, we simply cannot allow that to happen for the safety of the child. The numerous things that can happen are frightening and something we would never want to occur to any of our guests.

I'm sorry we had a difference of opinion and that your stay was affected as a result. We do wish you well in the future and appreciate the time you took to discuss and then share this feedback with us.

Thank you,

Rachael Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Juneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Juneau

Address: 2295 Trout Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Juneau 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Juneau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Juneau Hotel Juneau
Super Eight Juneau
Super 8 Hotel Juneau
Juneau Super Eight
Juneau Super 8
Super 8 Juneau Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Juneau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.