We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was too hot. Most rooms had the windows wide open to...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Juneau

Super 8 Juneau
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Juneau to your Saves list
Super 8 Juneau
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2295 Trout Street, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    60
    25
    33
See reviews for
51
31
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
372 hotel reviews
Reviews in 372 cities Reviews in 372 cities
782 helpful votes 782 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I'd probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if I could. Four stars would suggest I'd actually "recommend it," which seems a bit of a stretch.

First, the property is fine. It's basically a decent budget hotel, but in Juneau -- especially in the summer -- "budget hotels" can be quite expensive. Don't expect to get your money's worth, at least compared to value in the Lower 48. That's impossible in Juneau, and you'll be disappointed. If you have points in the Wyndham Rewards program, I'd recommend you use them.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and that's a big plus. Manager Rachel went "above and beyond" to help us with a reservation problem, and we greatly appreciated it.

Rooms are of different sizes, but are generally large enough. Some rooms have useful refrigerators and microwaves, and some don't. Ask for an equipped room if you need it. Beds are OK, but not great. Rooms seem clean enough, but some of the furniture, especially the chairs, can look a bit gnarly.

The free breakfast is terrible, but that's generally the case in all Super 8's. You can make some toast, get a low quality packaged Danish, have some basic cereal, yogurt and fruit cup, and that's about it. After a day, you'll make other arrangements. Heck, in a pinch you can go next door to McDonalds. For a dollar, you can get a sausage biscuit that is, sadly, a zillion times better than the hotel's breakfast.

I like the location of the hotel -- especially if you have a car. It's basically within walking distance of the airport and is central to everything, especially shopping. The only thing the location is not ideal for is downtown, which is still only about 10 minutes away on a fast road. I didn't utilize it, but their free shuttle around town would certainly be useful if you didn't have a vehicle.

Bottomline, this is an acceptable place to stay, and you should certainly consider it. But it's nothing more than basic accommodations, so keep your expectations in check.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

With the switchover, poor breakfast service. Kid was on cell phone or not there. Glad he left supply door open to restock napkins, coffee cups, etc. I wiped off our table and counter tops, One evening about 8:39 pm, housekeeping (3 people) used their pass key attempting to enter our room, no knocking, no apology. Glad we used the security chain as usual. Computer problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Standard rooms, clean, and low-cost, free wi-fi. Convenient with free shuttle to and from the airport, ferry, and downtown (the website indicates there is a charge for this, but it’s free). Stop at the information desk at the airport and have them call the hotel. If the shuttle isn’t running, they’ll arrange for a taxi to collect you at their cost, pulling up and asking for you by name.

There’s a McDonald’s and a convenience store in the same parking lot and Fred Meyer is about a mile away, an easy walk on a path that runs parallel to Glacier Hwy. Hotel manager friendly and helpful. It’s great if you are on a layover or planning to visit Mendenhall. I left before breakfast opened at 6am, so can’t speak to that.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

While the hotel staff were nice, the noise that we experienced during our stay left us very tired and unrested... If you stay at this hotel DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT stay in room #122...this room is located next to an exit to the parking lot and boy every time the door closes it sounds like someone is coming into our room...and when people are up at 3:00 to catch ferries or flights from the airport, we hardly got any sleep. Plus the room has a window that looks at the dumpster, which they came before 8:00 to pick up trash and it sounded like someone was breaking through the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I usually stay at the Juneau Hotel or the Frontier Suites because I like the full kitchens and laundry they offer. This time I needed a cheap room close to the ferry terminal for a night or two. Downtown hotels in the summer have super high prices and besides I was here this time passing through on the ferry and doing some shopping at Fred Meyer's. The desk staff is friendly and helpful. Upon arrival I got a room key and hauled my luggage up to the second floor only to find out it was dirty. I actually thought someone was in the room sleeping but must have left recently. So I had to haul my luggage back down to the desk, stand in line for 5 minutes and get another room assigned. So up I went again with the luggage to the third floor. It too was dirty. I was like is this for real? This time I left my stuff in the room and went back down to the desk to get another room. I told the desk staff to maybe go look at the next room to see if was clean before they send me back up there. So the desk staff did so and returned to say it was clean and apologize for the B.S.

The room was suitable, although haggard and in need of some updating. The hotels in Juneau are very hot in the summer because they don't have A/C, although this was May it was still hot in the room. There was an old TV but had a coffee maker and free "breakfast" on the weekends. It was the typical cereal, toast, yogurt and instant oatmeal. This place is inexpensive for Juneau and they accept government rates. It was also surprisingly quiet - as most Juneau hotels are in areas with loud traffic or adjacent businesses. I would stay here again if I was just in Juneau for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Juneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Juneau

Address: 2295 Trout Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Juneau 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Juneau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Juneau Hotel Juneau
Super Eight Juneau
Super 8 Hotel Juneau
Juneau Super Eight
Juneau Super 8
Super 8 Juneau Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Juneau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.