We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and close to glacier tours activites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Hotel to your Saves list
Driftwood Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location and close to glacier tours activites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel is clean with good location to restaurants. Also we were able to take glacier tours by just walking to the starting point. Also they were courteous to give us extra tea bags. They also arranged free airport-lodge transfer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    64
    49
    24
    9
See reviews for
33
60
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Driftwood Lodge was a fairly average motel. Rooms are accessed from outside stairways but reasonably comfortable. The hotel is located right in the middle of downtown Juneau and quite cheap.

Unfortunately, the ferry docks are not located in downtown Juneau; they are located some 30 minutes away by driving. Thankfully, the Driftwood offers a free shuttle to the ferry (and airport) with a very friendly driver who was willing to wait for me when I was a few minutes late.

There was one incident where an intruder (who turned out to be the guest downstairs) pounded on my door repeatedly demanding I come out at 2 AM, forcing me to call security; they confronted him and he retreated to his room not to return.

I'd recommend staying at the Driftwood if you travel to Juneau; doubly so if you're arriving/departing by ferry as the city buses don't go out that far.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whenever I have visited Juneau, Alaska, for business or personal business in the last 30 years, I stayed at the Driftwood Lodge. Great Downtown location near: the State Office Bldg., the Federal Office Bldg., The State Museum, a large grocery store, Centennial Hall (concerts, exhibitions, etc), several restaurants, a City bus stop. There is shuttle service to the airport and the state ferry terminal. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent, with coffee-makers. The prices are very reasonable. The building is well-maintained. The Driftwood Lodge is an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This motel has a great location as downtown Juneau is about a 5min walk away. There is also a supermarket a 2min walk away, a small deli shop next door and a really nice cafe/bistro on-site which did great breakfasts. It was off the main road so it was quiet and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We were provided with a well-supplied kitchen, a dining table for two, a very clean en-suite and a TV with very good signal. Ask for a second or third floor room as I wouldn’t have wanted to have stayed on the ground floor as it was right next to the car park AND there was a black bear roaming around the streets when we were there! The free shuttle to ferry/airport terminal was very useful as they are both a distance away and a taxi would be expensive. The only small complaint we had was that the member of staff who greeted us wasn’t welcoming or friendly at all and was talking on the phone to what seemed like a friend while she was checking us in. Another member of staff we dealt with got the time of our shuttle wrong which could have caused us big problems if we hadn’t thought to double check the time the night before! However, everything else was fine and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a second or third floor room as the ground floor rooms are right next to the carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

my friend and I stayed in the Driftwood lodge for 4 nights in September. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a complimentary shuttle bus back and forwards for the airport. It is quiet and there is a cafe on the corner of the building which serves amazing breakfasts ( and other meals, but we only had breakfast). It is also very close to the centre, the shops and the harbour. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

There are five really good things about the Driftwood Lodge: 1) they offer free on-demand shuttle service to/from the AMHS ferry terminal and to/from the airport, 2) they are well-located, within easy walking distance to everything in downtown Juneau, 3) it's reasonably priced, 4) the staff are friendly and helpful, and 5) there's a very good bistro restaurant, the Sandpiper, immediately next door. On the down side, the walls are pretty thin. You can hear a whole lot from the next room, coughs, voices, etc. There's a mix of clientele, and in our mix were some serious loud partiers! We had to change rooms one night because the folks in the next room were going strong, both inside and outside the room. A very loud and well-attended party indeed. The staff was very accommodating in moving us to another (more expensive) room at no extra cost, but seemed unwilling to do anything about the raging partiers. So you take your chances. We spent 6 nights there. Five were just fine. One wasn't. All in all, I'd stay there again, depending on how many ferry/airport trips I had planned.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from 8 Sept to 12 Sept 2012 after our cruise with InnerSea. Great location, within easy walking distance to downtown. Deli just around the corner and cafe right next door. Complimentary transfer to / from ferry terminal and airport. Debbie and Brian who manned the registration desk were very helpful. Though there were only two of us, we were given a room that come with a queen bed and a single bed. The only grievance that we had was the wifi. No wifi signal at all in the room. But this is only a small matter. All in all, we had enjoyed our stay at Driftwood. :)

Room Tip: If you don't mind no wifi signal, ask for Room 322.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: 435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Driftwood Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.