We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Convenient Shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Driftwood Lodge
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Juneau
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Central Location, Convenient Shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Driftwood Lodge was a fairly average motel. Rooms are accessed from outside stairways but reasonably comfortable. The hotel is located right in the middle of downtown Juneau and quite cheap.

Unfortunately, the ferry docks are not located in downtown Juneau; they are located some 30 minutes away by driving. Thankfully, the Driftwood offers a free shuttle to the ferry (and airport) with a very friendly driver who was willing to wait for me when I was a few minutes late.

There was one incident where an intruder (who turned out to be the guest downstairs) pounded on my door repeatedly demanding I come out at 2 AM, forcing me to call security; they confronted him and he retreated to his room not to return.

I'd recommend staying at the Driftwood if you travel to Juneau; doubly so if you're arriving/departing by ferry as the city buses don't go out that far.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
27
46
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whenever I have visited Juneau, Alaska, for business or personal business in the last 30 years, I stayed at the Driftwood Lodge. Great Downtown location near: the State Office Bldg., the Federal Office Bldg., The State Museum, a large grocery store, Centennial Hall (concerts, exhibitions, etc), several restaurants, a City bus stop. There is shuttle service to the airport and the state ferry terminal. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent, with coffee-makers. The prices are very reasonable. The building is well-maintained. The Driftwood Lodge is an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This motel has a great location as downtown Juneau is about a 5min walk away. There is also a supermarket a 2min walk away, a small deli shop next door and a really nice cafe/bistro on-site which did great breakfasts. It was off the main road so it was quiet and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We were provided with a well-supplied kitchen, a dining table for two, a very clean en-suite and a TV with very good signal. Ask for a second or third floor room as I wouldn’t have wanted to have stayed on the ground floor as it was right next to the car park AND there was a black bear roaming around the streets when we were there! The free shuttle to ferry/airport terminal was very useful as they are both a distance away and a taxi would be expensive. The only small complaint we had was that the member of staff who greeted us wasn’t welcoming or friendly at all and was talking on the phone to what seemed like a friend while she was checking us in. Another member of staff we dealt with got the time of our shuttle wrong which could have caused us big problems if we hadn’t thought to double check the time the night before! However, everything else was fine and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a second or third floor room as the ground floor rooms are right next to the carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

my friend and I stayed in the Driftwood lodge for 4 nights in September. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a complimentary shuttle bus back and forwards for the airport. It is quiet and there is a cafe on the corner of the building which serves amazing breakfasts ( and other meals, but we only had breakfast). It is also very close to the centre, the shops and the harbour. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

There are five really good things about the Driftwood Lodge: 1) they offer free on-demand shuttle service to/from the AMHS ferry terminal and to/from the airport, 2) they are well-located, within easy walking distance to everything in downtown Juneau, 3) it's reasonably priced, 4) the staff are friendly and helpful, and 5) there's a very good bistro restaurant, the Sandpiper, immediately next door. On the down side, the walls are pretty thin. You can hear a whole lot from the next room, coughs, voices, etc. There's a mix of clientele, and in our mix were some serious loud partiers! We had to change rooms one night because the folks in the next room were going strong, both inside and outside the room. A very loud and well-attended party indeed. The staff was very accommodating in moving us to another (more expensive) room at no extra cost, but seemed unwilling to do anything about the raging partiers. So you take your chances. We spent 6 nights there. Five were just fine. One wasn't. All in all, I'd stay there again, depending on how many ferry/airport trips I had planned.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from 8 Sept to 12 Sept 2012 after our cruise with InnerSea. Great location, within easy walking distance to downtown. Deli just around the corner and cafe right next door. Complimentary transfer to / from ferry terminal and airport. Debbie and Brian who manned the registration desk were very helpful. Though there were only two of us, we were given a room that come with a queen bed and a single bed. The only grievance that we had was the wifi. No wifi signal at all in the room. But this is only a small matter. All in all, we had enjoyed our stay at Driftwood. :)

Room Tip: If you don't mind no wifi signal, ask for Room 322.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Driftwood may not be to everyone's taste,--for instance, the liquor store adjacent might put some people off. But I've stayed there 3 separate trips to Juneau for a combined more than 7 nights. The efficiencies are great, if you want to save on going out for b'fast or even other meals. The free shuttle service to the airport and ferry is a life-saver. The outside corridors can be a bit noisy with people walking past one's room. Easy walking distance to downtown. Staff and drivers are friendly and helpful. My home away from home in Juneau. One recent drawback: the grocery around the corner apparently closed in Aug. 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room that's at the far end from the stairs. Less foot traffic outside your room. I alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau
Driftwood Lodge Juneau, Alaska
Address: 435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Driftwood Lodge 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.