We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Overnight Stopover and close to everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Hotel to your Saves list
Driftwood Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Pearcedale Victoria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient Overnight Stopover and close to everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed 1 night on our way on the ferry from Skagway to Juneau, and onto Sitka, and then again on our return from Sitka to Juneau. We shared one of the larger rooms as there were 3 of us sharing the room. The first room we had was downstairs - it was clean and the beds reasonable and the bathroom good, however we could hear everyone walking around on the floor above us. The second night we opted for a room on the 3rd floor, thinking that at least we wouldn't hear the people walking above us, and while the room was very similar, the bathroom was pokey and rundown. They were doing some work on the parking lot, and I would say they need to do some work on the whole of the Lodge. It was overall clean and comfortable and the larger rooms had a kitchenette. The staff were friendly and helpful. The wi-fi good. One of the big pluses for this lodge is that they will pick you up from the ferry terminal and return you there when needed - at no charge. It can be an expensive taxi ride in from the ferry at around $33 to $35 - so that's good value. It is well located close to downtown, the museum is right next door, there's a small grocery store near it and a restaurant right next to the lodge, although we didn't get a chance go eat there as it is only open for breakfast and lunch and our ferry trip was a very early start. Value for money, for Juneau, especially when you take into account the free pickup/return to and from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    67
    50
    24
    9
See reviews for
33
62
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Easy walk to all downtown Juneau attractions, free shuttle service to & from the ferry or airport, clean, friendly staff. The efficiency has a kitchenette and there is a grocery store a block away. Bus stops right in front. You can take the bus anywhere for $2. Wifi plus a computer for guests to use in the lobby. We enjoyed a 4 day stay here. For $115 at the end of August, this is the best deal in town.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the second and third floor rooms have great views of the waterfalls shooti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice clean rooms. Its close to downtown , the museum and tons of shopping. There's a restaurant right next to it that had good food. They were painting the outside of the hotel and doing some work in the parking lot so it was a little noisy during the day but that was fine because we were exploring the town. :) This was our second time staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one night before joining Alaska Dream Cruises. There is not a lot to choose from in Juneau, but we picked the Driftwood Lodge based on other tripadvisor reviews. It is a bit on the tired side, but was clean, the location was great for access to downtown Juneau. The people at the front desk were very friendly and accomodating. I didn't use the wifi much, but don't recall a problem and the beds were quite comfortable. It was quiet at night and we didn't have any complaints. It does have a nice view of the mountains from the balcony and it is near lots of stores and restaurants. If I was to be in Juneau for more than one night, I would look at some of the nice lodges and Band B's that are further from town. Juneau is a great place and I wish we would have had a bit more time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The driftwood is a good choice for a short stay in Juneau. It is about six blocks from the madness at the docks and only two blocks from the State museum. It shares a parking lot with the Sandpiper Cafe. Overall the rooms are old but serviceable. There was no A/C (wonder why) so one window is constantly open to allow for ventilation. Everything worked and the office staff was friendly. I chose the Driftwood because the shuttle service is reliable and useful at odd hours.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a larger room with a small kitchen and went next door to the A&P for orange juice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Motel style facility with exterior doors on three levels without elevator. Our family of four stayed in a two bedroom with kitchenette. Nothing great but not bad. Bed is only ok at best. Small bathroom and small kitchen area. Front room is adequate. It was great to be in Juneau for three days and two nights and the Driftwood is very affordable. Nice staff. Great shuttle bus service to and from the airport saved us lots of $. Breakfast cafe in same parking area was good but expensive. Grocery store is half a block away for kitchenette items, sandwiches, breakfast foods, great coffee and more. Keep your expectations realistic and use the Driftwood to explore the interesting elements of Juneau (glacier, whale watching, fishing, strolling downtown).

Room Tip: Second floor by the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Well located, clean, and very friendly. No fridge or microwave in the room (available in the lobby) and the wifi is so weak it may as well not exist. Shuttles to the airport and ferry are very convenient. Pleasant walk to anything in downtown Juneau.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: 435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.