We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Stay in Juneau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
Breakwater Inn
1711 Glacier Ave., Juneau, AK 99801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Evanston, Wyoming
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Extended Stay in Juneau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 months while I was working a summer job in Juneau. The best things about the hotel were the price and location. For us being downtown was extremely important! The Breakwater was also the cheapest extended stay hotel we could find. The rooms are clean and comfortable nothing fancy for sure. Some of the rooms have kitchenettes which is nice.

Be sure to try the Chinese food and checkout the view from the Restaurant/ Bar on the top floor!

Room Tip: The Harbor View Rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    9
    7
    16
See reviews for
6
9
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while my wife was in hospital. A grim looking run down place which is very noisy if you stay in a room overlooking the main road. It was very hot but there was a fan in the room. The bar was welcoming and the drunks were friendly!. Only Asian food or burgers etc available in the evenings. No breakfast at hotel so had a ten minute walk towards downtown to supermarket for food. Found out later the hotel is on bus route. I paid by credit card for three nights when I checked in. I only stayed for two nights and when I checked out at 10am the "manager" made as if he was doing me a big favour by refunding the charge for the third night. I shall keep a check that it is refunded on my credit card. Luckily I was able to make alternative accommodation arrangements in Juneau before we flew home. Local people I spoke to about the Breakwater Inn had good things to say about what it used to be like so I assume it has recently gone downhill. Only stay in an emergency.

Room Tip: If you have to stay then stay at the back. A half hourly bus service runs along Glacier Ave at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for only one night coming from the East Coast and starting a cruise the next day. We had to get in a day early to make the embarkation on a Friday, June 8th. Unfortunately our timing couldn't have been worse. It seems that many cruises started the same day and many people stay over before the cruise. There was also a Native American bi-annual celebration taking place starting Thursday and running through Sunday. Every hotel room in Juneau was taken. We felt lucky to get a room at all. We were not looking forward to staying at the Breakwater Inn after reading the many negative reviews. Our room was not fancy but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nothing special but adequate and clean as well. We were on the mountainside so we didn't have the street noise as many complained about. The on site restaurant was pretty sorry. Very limited menu and most of it Asian. Only one other couple came in while we were there. We ended up ordering a burger. It was less expensive than most of the hotels in Juneau. OK - for one night.

Room Tip: Definitely get a mountainside room. It is very loud on the harborside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teslin, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

the only nice thing i can really say about this hotel is the view over looking the ocean.
other than that the rooms were old & run down with paper thin walls.
smokers from the pub were noisy as they smoked on the deck infront of our door too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place used to be a good old fashioned, rocking joint! It was called Troxels for a brief period and was great! Six nights a week there was a line at the door. Now it is no more than an obvious attempt by the dude that owns the realestate to replicate what Troxels was pulling off. A crying shame that any local would ever step foot into this place. Try an go see Rob and crew down at the Hanger. They are just as consistent and as good as Troxels was.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a bad experience at the Breakwater Inn. Here is what happened:

We spent a totally sleepless night at the Breakwater Inn (BI) because of rowdiness in the next room (loud music, loud voices, arguments, pounding on wall, floor & furniture, etc.). Although we called the reception desk three times to complain, the noise continued through the night and was still going on when we got up at 4:00 am to catch an early flight. It got so bad that the police was called in and as we were leaving (5:00 am) policemen were escorting a woman out. When we asked the reception clerk for a refund for that sleepless night, we were told the manager would call us later. He never called. We sent him an email to explain what had happened and to request a refund. We got no answer. We wrote to him by regular mail and again we got no answer.

The BI advertises “Free Shuttle to the airport,” but during our stay that service was not offered before 6:00 am. If you need to catch an early flight, you will have to call a taxi. When you adjust the advertised room price to reflect this extra cost, there are better deals in Juneau.

Depending on where your room is located in the BI, your “No Smoking” room may be fed smoke from the rest of the hotel via the air system, and through your bathroom. We spent three nights with smoke coming through our bathroom. A week later, we were in a room which was apparently sheltered from smoke. But that was the room where we had to listen to noise all night long.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Dirty, nasty, icky, gross. If you are a person with extremely low standards who doesn't mind a totally dirty place, you'll be ok. This is one of the worst places ever. The website is terribly misleading. The place needs a paint job inside and out. It needs cleaning inside and out. The "private balcony" statement is a total fabrication...they have one long balcony with a low railing separating one unit from the next. Avoid this place. We checked out 30mins after checking in. We only stayed that long in order to make other arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Inn

Address: 1711 Glacier Ave., Juneau, AK 99801
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Hotel Juneau
Breakwater Inn Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.