We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience but only stay here M-Th” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Save Saved
You added The Alaskan Hotel & Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
167 S. Franklin, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience but only stay here M-Th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a good experience. We stayed here Sun night - Wed. We requested our room be one of the hotel room makeovers. The remodel was nice. The room still had original wood furniture and character. Bed was comfortable. We had a TV with all the channels. The bathroom on the small side but not a huge issue. The sink/vanity not in BR but across the room. I did not like how there's a huge gap between the hotel door and floor. Alot of sound comes into the room this way and it can also make you paranoid about how much noise you make in the room - like anyone outside can here. As far as the noise coming from the bar downstairs - we did not have any disruptance but friends of ours who stayed here Fri-Sat did not get any sleep. Their room was right above the bar. Plus the people staying in the other rooms during the weekend were very sketchy. They said you could smell weed as soon as you were in the halls. Another inconvenience is lack of parking. There's no designated parking stalls for this hotel, no close parking garage either. We had to park on a side street. I think we parked on Gold Street. Not many spots available. People during the day are mostly tourists. But the people you see at night near the hotel are sketchy. No issues with the wifi. We used the washer/dryer here and no issues there. Also the front desk people are duds. As long as you come here during the right part of the week and just go with the flow, you will have a good time here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
10
19
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Alaskan hotel for two nights. The room was sparse, but clean. The bathrooms were down the hall, cleaned frequently and we never had to wait. It felt safe, but our street side room was loud, so bring ear plugs. I wouldn't hesitate as a woman to stay here alone. Great location for hikes and food.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is more like a hostel than a hotel. We got lucky and got a bathroom in our room but other rooms use a shared bathroom down the hallway. Our room was very basic (two twin beds/kitchette...which looks like it came from 1913) but that was ok with us because we literally just used to room to keep our things in and to sleep in. It's an old hotel so expect an OLD hotel. Still smells like smoke although it is now a smoke-free hotel. Some rooms were remodeled but they all look different. Very clean bedding.
The downstairs has a bar that is pretty fun at night. It's located right downtown so its great for tourists. The biggest let down was when we got there to check in, it took a very long time and the lady isn't at all professional or helpful. The room she gave us already had people in it, which was ok because our key didn't work. It then took her TWO HOURS to find us a new room and didn't ask if I wanted a seat until she was almost done. She never even apologized for the error and said that "mistakes happen." The entire staff is very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Find a real hotel that is close to downtown Juneau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar, Middle East
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here on our honeymoon trip. The hotel decor and vibe was just what we were looking for. At times the staff seemed stressed but were helpful, always treated us well and went out of their way to get us a room. Loved the bar and conversations with interesting people. If you are hard to please and expecting to get pampered go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beware if you are traveling with children or a group... most rooms do not have bathrooms (public are provided) and the rooms that do have no door or curtain for privacy. Room was not very clean, insects everywhere (I get it, place is old) bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched prior to arrival. You will not have a quiet night as the bar downstairs has live music almost every night and the walls are paper thin. Homeless sleeping in doorways outside but they seem to leave people alone and can be quite friendly for the most part.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I wished that you would have had a better experience at my hotel, The Alaskan Hotel in Juneau Alaska. We are the oldest continuously operating hotel in Alaska and are on the National Register of Historic sites. We are doing our best to keep the standards high
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was probably my worst hotel stay ever!! The lady at the desk was incredibly friendly and was the only reason we booked the hotel in the first place. We used the hotel as a base and didn't return until the end of the day. When we went to the room we sat down and were soaked from the bed. We spent 30 minutes at the desk, when the guy finally appeared he was completely out of it. As we went upstairs we could smell pot and someone was offering it to the man at the desk to which he responded 'give me 5 and I'll be back'. He sent us to another room to which we had the same issue...guess what? The man could not be found! We slept in towels and checked out the very next morning. If you want cheap just use the hostel. DO NOT GO NEAR!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I am sorry that your experience at my hotel , The Alaskan Hotel in Juneau was less than wonderful. I must say that I have never received a complaint about the sheets not being dry enough. I have hired exchange students from other countries and the learning curve has been steep, plus our head of housekeeping was very sick for 1 to 2 weeks. Whitehorse is Juneau's sister city and we have a lot of visitors from you town. Of all places I would like to have everyone from Whitehorse feel that the Alaskan was their "home away from home"
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed on a family trip in July. Booked by phone which was a good idea as each of the rooms in this 100-year-old hotel is different and we were put in a room which was (just) large enough to have two rollaway beds. As a particular plus we had a view over the July 4th fireworks! The room was otherwise no-frills but perfectly functional - the kitchen had a fridge and stove but too few kitchen utensils (knives, forks, plates etc) for a family. Location excellent on the historic main street (obviously somewhat touristic these days). Hiking trails (Preservance, Mt Roberts) accessible on foot from the hotel, city bus terminal one block away. Wifi ok for web browsing and emails but too slow for Youtube etc. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Book by phone to discuss options as there are many different types of rooms in this historic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S. Franklin, Juneau, AK 99801
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.