We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westmark Baranof Hotel to your Saves list
Westmark Baranof Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located on the main street , the double bed was too soft and I kept rolling onto my husband. I ended up in the single bed in the room. no fridge and only enough coffee supplies for 2 cups
We had a fire alarm go off one morning, real fiasco. people milling around not sure what was going on. As we were going downstairs we were told by a staff member it was a false alarm.
Eventually when we were all outside, someone said they had smelled something on the 7th floor. The fire brigade finally arrived with an amubulance
We decided to go and get breakfast elswhere while they sorted things out

Room Tip: rear rooms would probably been quieter away from the street, and higher up (we were on 2nd Floor) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    76
    37
    19
See reviews for
37
72
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was expecting something classic, maybe even a little classy. I had gone to events held at the Baranof and had eaten at the Gold Room, but the hotel service was very disappointing. The walls were thin, the bathroom in disrepair. The shower head wasn't properly attached to the wall and the water didn't get hot. In the morning of our one-night stay, housekeeping walked in while we were sleeping. In my experience in the hotel business, shouldn't they be aware of which rooms are occupied before starting turn overs?
Considering the price, I was expecting quite a bit more. There was nothing at all during my stay that impressed me.

Room Tip: If you can manage it, (and you have no other hotel options) try for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had an excellent experience staying here for 4 nights! The room was clean and comfy and the stay was very friendly. I was travelling with a service dog and they were very accommodating. The location is very convenient and walkable to everything in downtown. A free parking lot is provided behind the hotel if needed. I would recommend for anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had this room for a conference. Hotel was not impressive. Clean but rundown, in bad need of a remodel. Weather was in the mid 70s and with no air conditioning room was warm and uncomfortable. Fortunately I was on the back side of the hotel so it wasn't noisy and I was able to keep my window open.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am so sorry that you had bad experience with the unusual hot summer weather.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Near the tourist area of Juneau, this older hotel is quaint, with glass door knobs and classic woodwork. The wifi access can be a bit difficult, but they do have it. The fitness room is small. only one of the 2 treadmills is currently working and the TV in the fitness room wasn't working either. The rooms are clean but not modern. Fortunately, I did not have loud neighbors, or I would have heard every sound they made since soundproofing is lacking. There is no air conditioning and no hairdryer. If you want to be near the action, are going to be out and about a lot, and don't need the most modern amenities, then the Baranof is a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid room 232. It is next door to the fitness center. Since soundproofing is minimal and the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

I noted your comment about the TV and the treadmill and we fixed both of these problems. Thank you for sharing this with us!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I want to prefic this review with the fact that I travel often for business (over 80 nights a year stayed in a hotel on average). I typically stay at Marriott or Hilton properities but rarely do I stay at their nicest brands.

This is my first time to Juneau and I was told to stay at this hotel by an experience Juneau traveler as it was "the best Juneau has to offer". There MUST be better places here. I can't believe a city that is so focused on tourism wouldn't have better properities. I have visualized several other hotels as I drove around (most of the ones on the top 10 list here) and none appear to be better from the outside.

Pro's: Clean, Bed is somewhat comfortable, and free Wifi (slow)

Con's: The hotel is old and outdated, they have made efforts to spruce things up like new fixtures and bathroom decor but the walls are thin and noise REALLY travels. Rooms are plain and boring, there are limited places to plug in a phone/laptop/etc. This hotel still expects travelers to go through the checkout process at the front counter on the way out and won't deliver a bill to the room unless requested the night before.

My biggest complaint is that I'm staying here while the temperature is in the 80's outside. This hotel has NO AC. I understand the basic premise of not needing AC in Alaska but when traveling on business I need to be able to get a good nights sleep and with the rates they are charging AC is a must. When I inquired about this I was told that there is a fan in every room that I could use. So my night consisted of the window being open with the fan going and the sun shining until midnight and back up at 4am.

Now what your are getting into and limit your expectations if you plan to stay at this property (or probably any property in Juneau).

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am so sorry that you had bad experience with the unusual hot summer weather. You can have an express check out if you call the front desk the night before. I am sorry it is not more convenient.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was extremely displeased with the OLD hotel.
Our room we stayed in was small, very small.
Soundproofing is non existing, we heard every conversation, phone call & TV show in the room next store and hallway. We heard every flush of the toilets in the adjacent rooms as if it was in our room. Our first night was kept up by the TV volume turned up HIGH at 11:30 pm & the woman the next door taking on the phone loudly. Than the first morning, we were woke up by the noise of showers, toilets and by the woman the next door again talking on the phone at 5am.
When I spoke to the front deck about the noise, the clerk said "there was nothing he could DO"!
Bad Service...!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Baranof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.