We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely to revisit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westmark Baranof Hotel to your Saves list
Westmark Baranof Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Likely to revisit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Baranof on several occasions, and will likely return. It's a nice place and something of an Alaska institution. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I've always had excellent food in the Gold room restaurant, and good service at the bar. There does not appear to be much of a buffer between adjacent rooms so get comfortable with knowing when your neighbor uses the bathroom, and hope you don't have a noisy sleeper next door.

One disappointing experience: the in-room materials offer a room service menu and state that room service is available until 9 p.m. Taking this to be true, I worked late one evening with a plan to order room service once I arrived back at the hotel. I called for room service at 8:37 p.m. and was told I was too late. When I pointed out that the menu in the room said room service would be available until 9 p.m. I was told, "I don't know what the menu says, I just know the policy here. You are seven minutes too late." That experience was unfortunate.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

I am so sorry that you had bad experience with the room service menu. I have forwarded your comment to our general manager and we will correct this problem.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    76
    37
    19
See reviews for
37
72
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have been to Juneau several times and this was our first stay at the Baranof. It is centrally located and close to the Capitol Building (a plus for sure) and is located right on the water. Our room faced the back parking lot, but the view of the trees and brightly painted houses was really awesome! We could hear a lot of noise from the street and the machinery outside, and it often occurred during the very, very early morning hours - like 4 am! The bed was very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing the water, if given the opportunity to choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

We continually renovate our hotel and have all new bed’s and top of the bed program. We are in the processing of installing new carpet this fall. Another project we anticipate in the spring will be a newly painted Westmark Baranof!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had a great king bed, the room was very clean and the food was great. Had a great view of the water and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The location was very well placed for doing business at the Capitol building.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Baranoff on three different occasions in December. Overall, the hotel is good. Older but has had updates over the years. Room was clean and bedding was average. Staff was great -- very friendly and helpful! Warm cookies in the lobby was a nice touch. The average room is a little small. My third trip was with the whole family (including a 5,3, & 2 year old) and we had a large suite that worked great for us. The suite was on the back side, no view but it was quiet. The two smaller rooms were looking downtown and towards the water and it was very noisy. You could also hear a lot of noisy within the hotel: alarm clocks, showers, voices, and door opening and closing.

Location is great! Juneau is small so it isnt hard to walk to anything downtown. Unfortunately, there was no airport shuttle and a cab cost $25 one-way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Baranof Westmark as your home away from home while in lovely Juneau and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable.

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Baranoff while In Juneau, it's an older hotel but nice. My room wasn't huge but comfortable with a great view of downtown Juneau and the Gastineau Channel. Staff was great there. All of the shops, restaurants and cruise terminal are right down the street, walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be helpful, knowledgeable and recommendation worthy. I will be sure to share your review with our team members. Our goal is to always provide top notch service. Again, thank you for choosing Baranof Westmark and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our capital city!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Westmark Baranoff Hotel is a typical chain hotel- comfortable but with no particular redeeming features. The window opened which was a feature I liked. Our room smelt a bit musty and the hotel needs a refurbish but otherwise, fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here in October of 2012. I knew when I went it would be wet most days. But the hotel is downtown, walking distance to almost everything I came to see. The hotel staff was friendly, answered any questions I had. The Gold Room had a great dinner menu, and food was good, as was the cafe. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: the room with the king bed was so comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Gold Room Restaurant, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. We have a new Executive Chief and he brings allot of new tantalizing menu items to our restaurant. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Baranof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.