We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zen
51 Egan Dr, Juneau, AK 99801-1708
907-586-5075
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

"Chinese" restaurants serving good Chinese cuisines when travelling can be hard to find. We're happy to say, this is a very good one, although it's really a bit of an Asian and American fusion if you take the menu as a whole. It's a short walk from where the big cruise liners dock. It has a quiet, roomy dining space with black lacquered furniture. Service is welcoming and swift. Among many tempting dishes is a black cod stir fry. Alaskans told us that black cod was their seafood delicacy and to look out for it, so we did, and it was! There's a ginger halibut too that is hard to miss. This was an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ginger Halibut a winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Good service, but the Ginger Halibut outshone everything else. The dish was attractive, perfectly presented, but most important of all, it was prepared perfectly as well. The halibut was delicate & moist, the veggies exactly the right balance of sauteed crispness, the flavors wonderfully savory. I ate alone, so don't know the other dishes, but this one was worth repeating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was not expecting much - hotel restaurants tend to have 'captive audience' syndrome. However, this was one of the better restaurants we ate at in Juneau. I ordered something I've ordered many places before and was very pleasantly surprised at the chef's treatment of the recipe. I got the dish I was looking for, but definitely memorable and unique to the restaurant. The other person I was with seemed equally impressed with his dish.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The waiters couldn't do more to help, they were very friendly.
Food was great and very reasonably priced.
Would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pretty good Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Convenient to the Goldbelt, especially in the rain. Open Sunday night when very many other restaurants in Juneau are closed. Food was tasty and nicely presented. Not special but good. Comfort food if you like Chinese.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.