We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating experience, excellent service, outstanding tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska

Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska
Juneau, AK 99803
+1 866-909-7288
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Harv and Marv’s mission is to provide the highest quality, personalized, Alaskan outdoor experience available; and do so in an honest and sincere way.
Geismar, LA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exhilarating experience, excellent service, outstanding tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Captain Liz took us on the whale watching excursion of a lifetime! Learned much about whales and the area and she took great care to make sure all could see the whales, and get pictures we wanted even turning the boat to do so.

We were lucky enough to see bubble net feeding and three breaches! What an amazing experience! I highly recommend Harv and Marv's. The small boats and personal service made the trip an experience of a lifetime for us. Captain Liz is a consummate professional and truly wanted to make sure everyone on the boat got what they wanted out of the trip, which is rare and appreciated. You can't go wrong with this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a great captain, Russell, and a wonderful guide, Rhianna. The experience of seeing whales was fantastic. We were told what to watch for and it wasn't long before we saw our first water spout and watched the first of many whales surface. We had an unforgettable time with competent, knowledgeable tour guides. These guys are the best!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Junkinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
410 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff greeted us from our cruise ship outside the port and we were driven to meet Captain Shaun, who, along with Rhianna, gave us a great trip. We saw several whales (although we missed the one with the calf that another H&M boat saw, which was surprising as they share knowledge by radio).

He was entertaining and courteous, and we really enjoyed the trip. The stellar sealions were lovely too, gambolling around our boat. We felt very safe with Shaun, he clearly knew his boats! Rhianna gave a shriek every time a whale fluke appeared, which did begin to pall - sometimes you just want to admire nature in the quiet.

On the way back we briefly visited the Mendenhall Glacier, which was a lovely bonus.

Good trip, would recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Montana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More than we bargained for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm an experienced whale watcher, having been on boats of all kinds for the last 30 years. Harv and Marv's did a fantastic job of keeping our group small and manageable - with Captain Jayleen, and we were able to learn and chat with her as we really "got into" some great humpback activity and then - followed some Orcas. She kept us alert to the activity and what to expect, took us by some sea lions on the way back, and we were in total clean and comfortable surroundings. I cannot say enough good things about this trip; it was first class all the way. I've posted a video of just a couple minutes of that tour. Thank you Harv and Marv (and Jayleen)!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nM7Op4UeEmM&feature=youtu.be

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrontierTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We picked Harv and Marvs because of trip advisor, and weren't disappointed. We saw many whales, and one really gave us a show. It was just my family on the trip, nice and small group. The cabin is nice and protected, and the captain knew a lot. Great trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing