We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrine of St. Therese

Shrine of St. Therese
Mile 23 Glacier Hhwy, Juneau, AK
907 780 6112
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$163*
and up
Private Tour: Customizable Hummer Tour of Juneau
Ranked #7 of 24 Attractions in Juneau
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the shrine with about 16 other people for a yoga retreat. We had the Lodge booked, which had been renovated in July. Aside from the spiral staircase, which was tricky and only allowed one person at a time to mount or descend, the Lodge was wonderful. My room had a bunk bed, closest to one of the two bathrooms on the second floor, with a view of the Labyrinth. We walked to the chapel for meditation every morning at 6:00 a.m. The whole property is dedicated to meditation and contemplation, regardless of one's faith. The grounds include rocky beaches with whales, sea lions and salmon evident in the water. It was truly a holy place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    54
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A humbling calm place to visit. I've seen whales out here a few times, and always get great pictures of flowers and such out there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Out of the way gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had never heard of this place until a local put us onto it.
Unfortunately the weather was absolutely dreadful when we went out there, rain & blowing a gale, but can imagine how pretty and lovely it would be if it was a sunny day walking around the trails.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A quiet place at the end of the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want to get away from the crowds, and enjoy great costal scenery, then this is the drive to take. Almost at the end of the paved road, there are lots of gentle hikes to take and if the weather is good, the views are beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I rented a car in Juneau, and the area was recommended for whale watching. It's a nice drive from downtown Juneau. The grounds are beautiful, and so peaceful, as you look over the water, after a short walk down the trail. We spoke with the groundskeeper, who was very nice, and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job and residence in Alaska. I'm so glad we found this wonderful place...we never would have found it or known about it had we not gone off on our own.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of St. Therese also viewed

 

Been to Shrine of St. Therese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrine of St. Therese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.