We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrine of St. Therese

Shrine of St. Therese
Mile 23 Glacier Hhwy, Juneau, AK
907 780 6112
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$163*
and up
Private Tour: Customizable Hummer Tour of Juneau
Ranked #4 of 25 Attractions in Juneau
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Silver Bay, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Six years ago my son and his wife were married at the Shrine of St. Therese. The entire wedding party of 10 attendants, lots of family members, and many friends made the trek to Juneau for the special occasion. My husband and I were bringing three elderly grandparents and needed at least one handicap accessible room. Needless to say, we were a bit concerned about bringing such a group from Minnesota to "wild" Alaska! But our fears were soon put to rest! The accommodations were PERFECT! Those that could "rough it" stayed in rugged cabins. We hosted the grandparents in a beautiful lodge on a hill overlooking the ocean where we could watch whales spouting and mountain tops glistening in the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The whole setting was so peaceful, beautiful, and easy to traverse. Everyone was able to participate in the wedding activities! I had to chuckle when I overheard one of the groomsmen say, "This is the best wedding I have ever attended!" It was amusing because the wedding had not yet taken place, but the fellas had all been out salmon fishing! Last month my son, his wife and two young children returned to stay at the Shrine of St. Theresa. Their pictures reminded me of what a special place it is and how much I would like to return for a visit. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Shrine of St. Theresa to anyone going to Juneau! It is picture perfect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau AK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A Juneau staple destination. We always send or take visitors here. It's more than 20 miles out of town but not to be missed. The handmade Gothic stone church is charming, and the 180 degree view of the water often includes whales, and salmon fishermen on the rocks below. Very nice garden also.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Serene and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking for a place to really experience the majesty of Alaska, this is it. No hiking or fees required to experience tranquility, amazing views and possible wildlife.

We saw sea lions swimming around and a whale puffing water in the distance.

This place is so peaceful. Truly a place to experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lonely Church In The Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful placement, Gorgeous construction. We were more than surprised. There is the usual Catholic problems with each other and mankind in general, but the distinctiveness and elegance of the church is irrefutable. On a rainforest island, made of stone and rock with incredible wood highlights. Don't miss!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the drive out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very picturesque location on an islet connected to the main island by a stone causeway. The shrine is open to the public. Religious art on the grounds. I particularly liked the Pieta in an alcove of a seaside cliff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of St. Therese also viewed

 

Been to Shrine of St. Therese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrine of St. Therese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.