We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gotta love king crab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tracy's King Crab Shack

Tracy's King Crab Shack
406 S Franklin St, Behind Trove, Juneau, AK 99801
907 723-1811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: New Location! We are a shack Serving all Alaskan King Crab, Snow Crab, Dungeness Crab, Crab Bisque, Crab Cakes and Crab Rolls. Beer & Wine available. Order at the window and have a seat. We will deliver to you. Seating is outdoors. We have a tent area with heaters on inclement days. No reservations necessary. We cook to order. Wait time for food is usually not longer than 10-20 min. Faster depending on selection. Locally owned by Tracy, a resident of Alaska for 20 years! We strive to offer the best crab experience at the best prices in Southeast Alaska. Thanks for stopping by!
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“gotta love king crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

if you are in alaska you have to have king crab. so we did. tracy's is reached thru their gift shop.
not at all like i expected. the restaurant is mainly outside. first stop the ordering shack. we ordered one leg, chowder and crab cakes. a little taste of everything. next stop was the beverage shack. can't beat a nice alaskan brew. the amount of food was perfect for the two of us. didn't want to spoil dinner on the ship. the chowder was excellent and the crab cakes very good. the king crab was very good but i felt that it was a little watery. the place was packed. you had to wander around to find a table, shared of course. the servers will find you. they yell out your first name and city. always nice to see a business busy. would i go back, in a minute, if it were only closer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    190
    37
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A yummy treat after a bad day. :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Setup: 2 parents and 4 kids aged 22, sixteen and two 15 year olds. We had a very expensive and disappointing day. Our midday excursion cost a fortune without any benefit. It was cold and rainy. We didn't get a real sense of Juneau. We felt we wasted an entire day of our lives the one and only time we'd be in Juneau. We headed back to our cruise ship and considered stopping at a restaurant and eating crabs but couldn't bear to spend even MORE $ and be MORE disappointed.

We took a chance and glad we did. Tracy's was right next to our ship. It was an outdoor "shack". There was a covered tent with lights. It didn't feel freezing. We sat on benches. We ordered six small bowls of Crab Bisque and it was $50. Yikes! I mean Yummo!

You order at the counter, pay, sit down and they deliver to your bench. Small paper cup with plastic spoon. Each cup came with a crusty roll in a paper boat.

This was the best crab bisque EVER, we all agreed. Worth every penny. Be careful, it's so hot and you're going to want to eat it ASAP. Don't burn your tongue or you'll ruin the whole thing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Delicious Crab Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I were on an Alaska cruise and decided to check out Tracy's for an off-ship bite to eat. The restaurant is located in tourist-trap row but don't let that put you off, it's worth it. We timed it just right and it was not too busy at all. It has a separate order and eating area that is exposed to the elements (on the sides). It is right on the water the the ambiance gives a nice, Alaskan authentic feel. There is indoor seating available as well. We ordered the king crab leg, bisque and crab cakes each. While it was not "value-priced", the crab was delivered quickly and cooked & cut perfectly. It was a very enjoyable meal and would certainly recommend it as a delicious food stop while off the ship or visiting the Juneau area in general.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“King Crabs as you would expect from Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a flying visit here as we had to dash back to our cruise ship but was well worth the visit. I was a little concerned at first as it is off the main street at the back of some stores but it is safe and well lit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Giant Crab Legs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

What a fabulous experience! Eating outdoors with friends, sharing the delicious crab legs, crab cakes, slaw and crab bisque. Love, love, love!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tracy's King Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Tracy's King Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tracy's King Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.