We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Ride!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Marine Highway System - Day Cruises

Alaska Marine Highway System - Day Cruises
Mile 13.5 Glacer Hwy at Auke Bay, Juneau, AK 99801
(907) 465-3941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 83 Activities in Juneau
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Sweet Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We took the fast ferry. The Fairweather. The knock on this among the locals is that it doesn't live up to the hopes and dreams of the builder. It can't take the high seas and therefore is no better than the slow ferry and in fact is worse as it leaves them stranded.

We had seas of glass so that's too darn bad. For them! Saw Orcas with young, porpoises, otters and views of such beauty that we are fans for life and beyond!

Let's see... For 800.00 we can take a tour in Spring without guaranteed whale sighting and rare Orca spots, or take the 100.00 ferry and see everything. Hmmmm...

We rode there and back. Choice between Sitka there and back in a day with an hour in port (four hour city) or Haines there and back in a day with three hours in port (two hour city). We should have done them both or spent the night in Sitka.

Incredible and if I do it again, I will go further, slower, faster, overnight, and more!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Marvelously friendly crew, fantastic seamen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Traveled with marine engineer and was fortunate to get tour of the bridge and a dollar tour of the engine room. Wonderful experience, extremely competent, capable crew. Sat in observation deck at night to observe navigation thru narrows. These people know how to move this large vessel thru very tight water. Professionals to the max. Stateroom though small was adequate and very clean. (It isn't new or a cruise ship). Food decent and reasonably priced. I'd do it again in a second. Very friendly crew.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Marine Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

All the boatrs are great in their unique ways. The terminal is out of the way in Juneau - you have a mile hike to get to a bus stop at DeHaarts store. Most boats have good food, nice people. On most boats you can rent a blanket and/or a pillow for just a buck or two to sleep in the reclining chairs. Wildlife often seen in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing but spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The marine highway system is fabulous and I cannot wait to visit again. The ferries are immaculate, reliable and the scenery spectacular. It was recommended to me and I tell everyone I see that it is a travel experience second to none. It has been 6 months since we traveled and it is still as fresh as it was yesterday.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cruising Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Ferry is very big and fun to explore. as usual as sson as we got on board we went to the kitchen to satisfy our insecurity of not being at home. I love the solarium where you pitch a tent and camp out on deck. there are also minin heaters up on the ceiling of the solarium.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Marine Highway System - Day Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Marine Highway System - Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Marine Highway System - Day Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.