We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orca Enterprises

Orca Enterprises
Auke Bay, Juneau, AK 99803
(907) 789-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 71 Tours & Activities in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked Capt Larry's tour on our own (not through Princess). Though it was raining, it was a great adventure.

our family (including our five year old) enjoyed Kelly and Capt Larry's tour. We saw many whales, seal lions, and Bald eagles.

It was amazing to see the number of whales (more than 20+) extremely close to the boat.

It was better than expected.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    21
    5
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Whales, whales and more whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We sailed with Orca Enterprises on August 12, 2012 (we did not use Royal Caribbean's services). Orca's office is right across the street from the cruise ship dock, making it easy to find. We boarded a bus to the pier. Very easy process.

The ship (sorry - can't remember the name) was big - but not too big that you are one of 100's of passengers. There were about 25 on our trip. We got out close to the whales and had a great experience. Captain Larry moved the boat as close as we could legally get to the whales. He turned on a microphone so we could hear the whales under the water.

We followed a group of Humpback whales for a while. On the way back to shore, we spotted a pair of Dalls Porposes - Captain Larry swung the boat around as we attempted to follow the dolphins for a bit.

We could watch from the main cabin, the back of the boat and on top of the cabin. Great views.

Complimentary snacks and beverages on board. Bathroom on board (but we didn't use it).

Trip back to the cruise ship dock was uneventful.

I highly recommend Orca Enterprises - and don't book it through the cruise ships.

Happy Whale Watching!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The Whale Whisperer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We docked in Juneau on the Disney Wonder and booked a tour ourselves, not through the cruise ship, with this locally-owned, family business and the experience could not have been better! Kelly, our naturalist, was one of the most excited, passionate, knowledgeable people you will ever meet; Captain Larry is a 20-year veteran and has a very special relationship with the whales that has even been the subject of a documentary. He just knew where the best spots were to see tons of whales. While we would have been completely satisfied only seeing humpbacks, Captain Larry knew there was more for us to see that day. When all the other whale watching tour boats were headed in one direction, Captain Larry turned quickly away from the group and we were rewarded by seeing a group of orcas on the hunt, including an amazing breach which is in the photograph. The picture was actually taken by Josh, another naturalist on the boat, and we all agreed that it truly was a special day to be out on the water.

On the fly, the staff also provided us with an unscheduled trip to see Mendenhal Glacier (for a reasonable fee) and then took us right back to the dock of our ship. They were so friendly and accommodating in every respect. I would highly recommend Captain Larry and his crew to anyone who wants a wonderful whale-watching experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I just returned from a family cruise that stopped in Juneau. I believe that my sister booked captain Larry outside
of the cruise line, so it may have been a little cheaper that booking from your cruise. We had 12 adults and 10 kids ranging from 6 to 16 years old. Pick up at the dock was very easy and transport to the boat took about 10 minutes. The boat was very comfortably and captain Larry and Staff were extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and high-spirited. Best of all, we saw TONS of Whales, with some coming up pretty near the boat. The natural sounds and watching the whales dive as they lifted their tales out of the water was truly an incredible experience. If you have an opportunity to spend a few hours with this crew, it will be an experience you will never forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Kelly, Josh and captain Larry were fantastic. Not only were they friendlyand hilarious, but full ofknowledge . Todays excursion will never be forgotten. It was a great family experience. The price was reasonable , and the crew was passionate about their jobs. Defenetly cheaper than what the cruise line prices and you get one on one with the crew members. Let me also mention that the boat is smaller so everyone gets a window seat, you don't have to fight to get a view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orca Enterprises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orca Enterprises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.