We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roasted Half Chicken with creamy polenta to Die For!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephyr - CLOSED

Zephyr
200 Seaward St., Juneau, AK 99801
(907) 780-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bothell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roasted Half Chicken with creamy polenta to Die For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

O.K. so it's Alaska and your supposed to have the Fresh Wild Alaskan King Salmon or King Crab or some king dish from the icy cold Alaskan waters but hey! I eat out a lot and what the heck, when your on the road too many days a year some times your looking for comfort food! The
Roasted Half Chicken with creamy polenta at Zephyr is to die for! Honestly, I have eaten this dish there a number of times and every time it's the same.... FANTASTIC! The skin is crispy and perfectly seasoned, the inside juicy & tender. The Polenta and spinach accompany it wonderfully.
Round it out with a glass of Souvignon Blanc and happiness ensues!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet downtown restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Love the ambiance of this restaurant, as much as the delicious food. I could make a meal from the starters alone!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate there on the second night of a four night visit to Juneau. Our dinner was so good, we went back on the last night. The atmosphere is very nice compared to other places we ate. I see that some of the other reviews weren't as positive, but we ate various appetizers and side dishes and thought they were all very good. As vegetarians, it is always nice to find a place that has a lot of choices, and this kitchen really knows how to do vegetables right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While the wine and appetizer service was nice, the dinner was average or below average. The owner has a completely unrealistic view of the quality he is providing. AVOID the crab/lobster spaghetti - it was awful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as it use to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ate here a couple years ago and really enjoyed it. I was looking forward to going back and bringing a friend. On the plus side, they have a romantic ambience and a friendly staff. I am giving it only three stars as it is really expensive and our meal was mediocre. I had the fish stew and the fish was dry and overcooked. The waitress was raving about the halibut, but mine was very unappetizing. My husband had the lamb kabobs and said it was "ok". Not exactly a ringing endorsement. Hopefully they can get things back on track as the staff seams to be trying and Juneau needs quality restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zephyr also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zephyr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.