We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice easy hike.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perseverance National Recreation Trail

Perseverance National Recreation Trail
Gold Creek Valley, Juneau, AK
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Juneau
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
South Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice easy hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a nice trail just on the back side of town. It takes you along an old mining road, so the trail is in great shape. There have been a few rock slides, so there may be one or two places that require a very little bit of scrambling, but otherwise it is a very gentle hike on a well traveled path with some gorgeous scenery to enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This trail is a peaceful walk between Mount Juneau and Mount Roberts. For the majority of the trail, you walk along a glacier river who's sound is incredibly soothing. The beginning is an incline but after that, it is a pretty flat and easy trail. Definitely a hike to take while in Juneau!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This a great short or long hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 5 hours hiking out and back on this trail in absolutely miserable weather. It was so much fun and we saw the most beautiful vistas, rivers and streams. We saw and heard an abundance of birds and even saw a black bear flash across the trail. The trail has joggers, dog walkers, and others throughout. It is not particularly strenuous unless you want to make it an all day hike.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favorite daily hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Perseverance trail is one I make sure to do weekly in the summer months! It has enormous amounts of history surrounding you on all sides along with great views! The trail is relatively easy and another good one for mountain biking. The first part if the trail is where you see the most change in elevation but nothing too drastic. You can access several other trails off perseverance if you are up for more of a challenge otherwise just enjoy a stroll across the gold creek river and keep your eyes peeled for porcupines, marmots, and sometimes black bears.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favorite hiking trail and you can pan for gold there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 8 days in Juneau hiking etc. and this was my favorite. It was a little hard to get to due to road construction but worth it. My husband's back was hurting so he stayed down by the river checking out all the old mining equipment while the kids and I hiked to the waterfalls. The scenery is spectacular and there were several waterfalls. It was mostly all uphill but gradual. There were some benches farther up if you need a rest. When we came down my husband introduced me to the friends he had made that were there panning for gold. Most locals there were very helpful and informative about how to pan for gold etc. If you're only going to hike one trail, make it this one.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perseverance National Recreation Trail also viewed

 

Been to Perseverance National Recreation Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perseverance National Recreation Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.