We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nugget Falls

Nugget Falls
Mendenhall trail, Juneau, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Falls are beautiful and Very Easy to reach via a short, flat trail. I imagine you might be able to even take an assistance device (motorized scooter) on it, but check first. You might not be able to reach the falls because of a stretch of beach, but you'd get close. It can get crowded with ships in port, so shoot for the beginning or end of the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    40
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ahhhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice and easy hike out to the falls from the parking lot for Mendenhall Glacier. Even I could do it and I am not the fittest person. Beautiful flowers along the path and nice view of glacier from here. Please do not climb up on the rocks by the falls to get your picture taken as I had seen others do. A few had a hard time getting down and others slipped.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
223 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Well worth the easy hike while at Mendenhall Glacier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was unseasonably hot when we visited and the ice cold mist of the falls felt so good. There are a couple trails that take you to the falls, we walked the more wooded one in and the beach trail back out. The spring was a little late in 2013, but I found some flowers for photos on the way- I'm sure July is beautiful.

The trail board says 20 minutes each way- I would allow 10-20 extra minutes plus photo stop time. The trail winds around a little, though not much elevation change- it is an easy walk, I guess time just passes quickly. The distance is 0.8mi each way on natural ground.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick hike to an awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took the 45 minute round trip hike to Nugget Falls! It was awesome and you get a great view of the Mendenhall Glacier from there! We saw lots of Bald Eagles up close and saw that the last bear was seen about 2 weeks before we visited.

The hike is quick and easy and there is a lot to look at! I suggest it because you can go right up to the falls. Feel the water and just feel how fresh it is!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Nice to see and an easy walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

When you walk in to see the Mendenhall Glacier, you will see Nugget Falls. They are full falls and you can walk right up to them. It's about a mile walk on an easy level trail. Parking is a lttlle tough, but most of the people come from the cruise ships by bus. The trails and visitor center will be crowded if there are a few cruise ships in port.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nugget Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nugget Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.