We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great little dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Incorporated

El Sombrero Incorporated
157 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
907-586-6772
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 110 Restaurants in Juneau
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Had a great little dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I ate at El Sombrero recently and enjoyed the atmosphere - lots of locals instead of the cruise crowd were eating alongside us. The food was good and the service was friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced & yummy Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate dinner here twice on our trip to Juneau in mid June. We absolutely love tex-mex & this was a good example of it. Excellent service, huge sized servings (but all American food is!) and nice atmosphere. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Alaska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. The food was not anything extraordinary. It was basic, average Mexican fare for a reasonable price. The service was quick and efficient. I wouldn't come here for anything special, but is recommended if you need a quick meal to fill you up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mexican Food in Juneau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Felt like Mexican food and always ask where the locals eat and El Sombrero was recommended.Family run by a father and his sons we were treated to great service and equally good food.Had the mini tostada with ground beef.Thanks again for a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau AK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good local tex-mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

El Sombrero has decent food, fine for Juneau which isn't the best food town. They have a big table upstairs for parties/meetings and downstairs is comfortable. I like the green chili stew offerings, and the rest of the extensive menu is fine. Right downtown.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.