We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Thai food - in Juneau!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chan's Thai Kitchen

Chan's Thai Kitchen
11806 Glacier Hwy, Juneau, AK 99801-8627
907-789-9777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 114 Restaurants in Juneau
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Juneau AK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quality Thai food - in Juneau!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

i don't eat out that much but I like Chan's menu and food quality, and the owners and servers are a local family. No reservations, so at times you will have to wait. One of the best Juneau has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The green curry and Thai basil dishes that I tried were pretty unflavorful. I feel like I may not have ordered their strongest dishes, however, since I saw a lot of other people get the same plate that looked good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Chan\s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Near Auke Bay harbor. Hard to figure out when they are open and often there is a long wait. Good Thai food and good sized portions. Small and cramped at times though. Some people are crazy about it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best Thai Available in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I lived in Thailand for two years, so my standards are pretty high. The cooks are Thai (and very friendly) so they know what they are doing, but they've adjusted recipes for limited supplies and local tastes. For example, the food is not spicy at all, which would be unheard of in Thailand. Also the portions are three to four times larger than what you'd find in Thailand, so be prepared to take some home. Though not perfect, the food is good and clearly very popular in Juneau.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Chan's food is consistantly good. Everyone there is always so friendly. Waits can be long, so be prepared to wait, especially if it's a nice evening - or go early. Worth the wait if you like Thai food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan's Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chan's Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chan's Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.