We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Fish Co Alaskan Grill

Twisted Fish Co Alaskan Grill
550 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1330
907-463-5033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 114 Restaurants in Juneau
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place for lunch at the marina in Juneau, a break from tourist shopping on the main drag. Good fish and landlubber fare too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    130
    62
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Twisted Fish offers a little something for everyone. We were a party of six including two locals, and two ten year olds. The child size portion of fish and chips was good, but my daughter said it was bland and had no taste; my other daughter had a wood fired cheese pizza and ate the whole thing. Pasta with a light pesto, shrimp and crab was good. Entree salads were plain and small, but the fish taco appetizer was huge. Not a bad meal, but not great either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't believe the guide book”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our guide book said this is where the Locals eat. I doubt that unless Locals like long waits and poor food. We waited 45 minutes for a table in late afternoon in the bar after we finally got drinks once the Bartender finished discussing her friends jewelry purchases for the day and mentioned to the Hostess that there were 5 empty tables. Be aware this place has an open air kitchen and it seems the Kitchen staff goes out of their way to make as much noise as possible especially by slamming down stacks of plates. We were still excited about having fresh fish in Juneau and ordered the specials of grilled Halibut and Salmon. 40 minutes later we were each served two
3" x 3' squares of overcooked, burnt fish. That picture they show by their listing in Trip Advisor is 3 times the amount we were served and I've had better fish in a Mom and Pop diner in St. Louis Missouri. What a rip off, don't go. I would have complained to the Management but in all honesty, the entire time we were in this train wreck I never say one person that seemed to be in charge! You have to understand, this place is right where the cruise ships dock, so everyday thousands of new customers arrive and it really doesn't matter if the food, the service or anything else is good because tomorrow they will have thousands more and it shows. One final thing, if anyone from management reads this, there is a tiny Café in Valdez called the Fat Mermaid, you should send your cooks up there to let that Lady teach your staff how to cook fish because your people don't have a clue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth , Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for a quick lunch after our cruise ship docked and before our excursion. Did not disappoint! Cozy atmosphere and great food. Sit at the bar and talk to Paul. Super nice guy! The chowder was OUTSTANDING!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trip to Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently took a cruise on the inside passage to Alaska. We booked all our excursions early so we didn't have to deal with any last minute preparations. One stop was the Twisted Fish, just on the dock by the boat. Wonderful atmosphere, and King Crab legs were so fresh and so tender, made me realize just how lucky Alaskans are. We only get frozen at home. The taste was so different and they were so sweet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Fish Co Alaskan Grill also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Fish Co Alaskan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Fish Co Alaskan Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.