We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest... really?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juneau Rainforest Garden

Juneau Rainforest Garden
10445 Glacier Hwy, Juneau, AK 99801 (Formerly Green Angel Gardens)
+1 907-209-5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 67 things to do in Juneau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NO UPSIDE DOWN TREES HERE ONLY ALASKA NATURE UP CLOSE!!! Juneau Rainforest Garden is the original botanical garden in Juneau that focuses on identifying and discussing Native use of SE Alaska indigenous vegetation (ethnobotany). The 1000 foot temperate rainforest trail winds through incredible diversity of bog, meadow and mature forest. Enjoy seasonal wildflowers, huge skunk cabbage, forget-me-nots (State flower) and moss covered rainforest floor under canopy of Western Hemlock and Sitka Spruce (State tree). Umbrellas are provided. Trail is self guided with information brochure and placards, street shoe accessible and can accommodate those with limited mobility. Refreshments are served under a 70 foot pavilion displaying natural science Alaskana while owners host Q & A. This intimate venue is offered in combination with Mendenhall Glacier and Mount Roberts Tramway. 2014 Princess Cruises - Tour JNU-130 2014 Holland America - Grand Tour of Juneau
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rainforest... really?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Who woulda thunk there would be a rainforest in Alaska?? The educational experience was amazing, and the scenery was breathtaking. You will love it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    9
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not only do you get an interesting perspective on a northern rain forest but you see the hard work that the owners have put into the gardens over the 30 years that they have been working on the garden. The tea and muffins at the end make the experience more like dropping in on friends and makes a nice ending to a long excursion day.

And the owner is very kind when one makes a mistake in entering a review. Green Angel is a fitting description of the total experience. Thanks,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing what the glaciers have created”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The glacier moving through this area left behind a beautiful rain forest with 50 kinds of moss and 50 kinds of Lichen, beautiful wild flowers, and amazing trees. There are stones along the trails showing you where the glacier was over the last 200 years. A great place to take pictures and explore the beauty that Alaska has to offer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alaska as it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wonderful walk, the beauty of Alaska and you don't have to worry about snakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of my most memorable experiences in Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband was on a fishing excursion in Junea so I was on my own to do what I wanted to do! My choice was the Mendenall Glacier and the Juneau Rainforest Garden.
Although the glacier was beautfiul, the highlight ot the day trip was the Junear Rainforest Garden. It was a rainy day and I missed being with my husband, but I soon mingled with other tourists from our ship - and the rainy day turned out perfect. The rain did not matter in the rainforest - it almost made it better - more beautiful. I loved the rainforest, everything was perfect. The plants and flowers were so well maintained in their natural habitat and so beautiful. The atmosphere was almost mystical, so peaceful.
You walk around yourself observing all the trees & plants, all marked so you will be able to match up with the guide that is given to you. I hated for it to be over. If I was not with a
group I would have done it over and over! At the end of the walk, we had a snack ( a delicious homemade cookie) and a warm beverage. It was cool and rainy out so this
was perfect. The owners (Jane & Jeff) were there to give us a wonderful, interesting talk
on what we just experienced. They had a few items for sale - be sure to buy a figure made from rocks "the Inukshuk".

Please do not miss this beautiful site. I will never forget it; it made my trip to Alaska
something I will never forget.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juneau Rainforest Garden also viewed

 

Been to Juneau Rainforest Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juneau Rainforest Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.