We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Sled Discovery & Musher's Camp

Dog Sled Discovery & Musher's Camp
Juneau, AK
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 90 Activities in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Nature & wildlife tours, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a true Alaskan adventure while supporting the official state sport! Take an exhilarating sled ride and play with our husky puppies, all in the heart of the lush Alaskan rainforest.When you arrive at our authentic summer training camp for mushers and their sled dogs, you will participate in a sled dog summer training run on our custom-designed, wheeled summertime sled. Discover the power in a team of Alaskan huskies as they whisk your sled down a mile long trail through the depths of the Tongass National Rainforest! Then join one of our dog handlers and sled dogs for interactive demonstrations on mushing equipment and the impeccable care the dogs receive. Your dog handler will also entertain you with knowledge about the training, history, races, and inspiring efforts required by this sport.Marvel at the untamed beauty that has lured you to Alaska when you walk across our suspension bridge overlooking Fish Creek. Our Musher’s Camp is surrounded by moss-covered forest with huge spruce and hemlock trees. The views are simply awe-inspiring.Finally, cuddle up with our husky puppies, and take your picture with these adorable future athletes!This excursion is the perfect mix of Alaska’s culture, history, adventure, ruggedly gorgeous wilderness, and of course sled dogs and puppies! Notes: All ages welcome, and most special needs may be accommodated. Round trip transportation and complimentary refreshments are provided.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved learning some of the history and experiencing a dog sled (al beit without the negative temps since it was summer time). The bus driver was friendly and pointed out interesting places along the way. The musher with us was so knowledgeable and you could feel her passion for the dogs. You have to absolutely love dogs to do that for a living.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dogs and puppies made the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This excursion was the highlight of our trip to Juneau. My children loved playing with the dogs and the sled ride was exhilarating! These dogs are amazing athletes and the caretakers clearly adore them and take great care of them. After pulling the heavy sled, we met the dogs and then the puppies. All of our hearts melted! Great tour!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This excursion is a lot of fun if you're a dog lover. We arrived at the camp and immediately got into our cart. The dogs were so excited that they were barking like crazy. We then went on our little ride which was about a mile or so. It could have been a little longer. Our guide got out and took some pictures of us and of the dogs. After we got out of our carts, we were allowed to pet the dogs where we were introduced to all of them. Next, another guide showed us some real dog sleds and all of the equipment that goes with it. You also get a chance to hold and play with the puppies which I loved because I'm a dog lover. They also have a small suspension bridge you can walk over. I enjoyed this excursion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A must do for dog lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We drove out to the mushers camp and met the dogs for the ride of our life. As we entered the property we were warned that it would be difficult to talk when we arrive where the dogs are kept because they get so excited when visitors arrive. The camp is well organised and has some undercover meeting areas where the handlers exercise and care for the pack.
The dogs were so excited to see us they were jumping off the ground with all 4 legs in the air,
We had the ride and were amazed at the intelligence of the lead dog who obeyed commands when told which way to turn on the course. After the ride we got to pat each of the 14 dogs in our pack and found that they loved the touch of human hands. WE also got to nurse the puppies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great time, but a little short a ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Really was a neat experience and we love any chance to be with dogs and pups. A bit disappointed in the length of the trek. It was fun, but was over too quickly. None-the-less we would do it all over again and it did turn out to be the source of some of our best Eagle and scenery shots in Alaska

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Sled Discovery & Musher's Camp also viewed

 

Been to Dog Sled Discovery & Musher's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Sled Discovery & Musher's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.