We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You can do only one excursion, this is THE ONE !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Icefield Expeditions

Alaska Icefield Expeditions
10.5 Mile, Juneau, AK 99803
+1 907-983-2886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 71 Tours & Activities in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring Iditarod and Yukon Quest Athletes, Alaska Icefield Expeditions executes summer dog sledding camps on the Mendenhall Glacier in Juneau and the Denver Glacier outside of Skagway. Accessible only by helicopter, excursions include a combined 25-30 minutes of scenic flight time on the way to and from our glacier dog camps. Once in camp, you'll experience the musher way of life and meet the true athletes, the dogs, of Alaska's official state sport. Following introductions and instruction, you'll take to the sled for 25-30 minutes of mushing beneath the awe inspiring backdrop of the Juneau Ice Field.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If You can do only one excursion, this is THE ONE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt, this was the most exciting Activity that I did during my two weeks in Alaska!
Landing the helicopter on the glacier, then riding a sled pulled by retired & young Iditarod dogs was absolutely amazing!
Though it was expensive, it was
worth every penny!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DOG SLEDDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Most beautiful snow white scenery I've ever experience. Able to interact with the glacier folks and also the dogs. It snowed the whole time we dog sled. The US Flag was a breath of fresh air in the middle of all this whiteness

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Highlight of our whole cruise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was so memorable on our honeymoon last July that my profile photo is me standing on the glacier with my Bahamian flag. Pilot said it was the hottest he had ever known it up there, ice was melting under our boots - took our weather with us, as Jimmy Buffett says in his song!! Friends went on same cruise following week and the weather socked in, missed out on excursion of a life time. Pick up, organisation, flight, pilot friendliness and knowledge could not have been better. Awesome adventure!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sawyer Glacier - Seattle to Skagway with NCL (Norwegian Jewel Ship)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful view for mountains. Juneau offers a wide selection of Native art shopping. Cruises to Juneau show you the most beautiful views, with options for once-in-a-lifetime shore excursions that include walking on glaciers, whale watching, and hikes through the country’s last old growth forests. Family friendly destination. We very enjoyed the round cruise trip from Seattle to Skagway with NCL (Sawyer Glacier) by Norwegian Jewel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took this excursion while on our Alaska Cruise. The Glacier was beautiful and thrilling.You will not be disappointed. Amazing scenery, amazing guides. Don't forget your sunglasses and your camera and a few dollars for tips.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Icefield Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Icefield Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Icefield Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.