We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gastineau Guiding Company - Juneau's Premier Guiding Company
1330 Eastaugh Way, Suite 2, Juneau, AK 99801
+1 907-586-8231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 Activities in Juneau
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gastineau Guiding has been offering small-group fully-guided wilderness experiences to Juneau travelers for over 20 years. Step into Alaska with a passionate and professional Juneau interpretive guide. Our guiding mission is to provide each guest with a sense of wonder about this special place we call home. Our modern fleet of custom built safari vessels provides the best vantage for viewing and photographing marine wildlife - whale sightings are guaranteed. Join us on a specialty trip by land & sea tailored to your interests: Juneau's original - Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier Photo Safari; Tour of the Year - Alaska's Whales, Glaciers & Rainforest Trails; The science behind the scenery - Discover Alaska's Whales(Science Adventure). Guided rainforest hikes with glacier views and alpine treks for active visitors are also available.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this through Celebrity on our cruise to Alaska. We were met at the ship and our guide gave us some great photo tips as we drove to the Mendenhall Glacier. On our short hike through the park where the glacier is located, he pointed out the highlights and helped us compose our pictures. The sea part of the tour was even better. Our captain took us up close and personal to several whales, bald eagle nests, and sea otters.

Thanks to the tips from our guide, we had some great pictures.
Would definitely recommend this excursion if you are in Juneau.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    37
    9
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Whale Watching and Mendenhall Glacier Photography Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked our excursion with Gastineau Guiding Company through the cruise ship. This was by far, one of the best, if not THE best, excursions we had ever taken. To begin with, the excursion was limited to about 15 people. We had ample room on the boat to move around inside and outside to capture just the right pictures. Our tour guide, Annie Mocie was wonderful. She helped us set our cameras so we would be able to capture the best shots using a manual setting on the camera. We were able to see many whales, sea lions, and bald eagles. Once we got on land, Annie guided us through the rain forest, giving us ample time to take pictures as she pointed out unique aspects of the rain forest, like the beaver eaten tree, bear tracks, etc. On the way to the glacier, we encountered a bear and two cubs, and a porcupine. At the glacier, once again, Annie helped us set our cameras and also took our pictures. She was so upbeat and positive throughout the entire tour. It was a wonderful experience that I would recommend very highly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Whales, Forest, and Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this trip through our Holland America cruise line and are glad we did. The tours are limited to 20 people, which make for a much better experience. Our guide, Jenny, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We first went out on a comfortable boat into Auke Bay. The boat had large windows and viewing areas in front and back. We saw humpback whales, seals, and orcas. The orcas were about 10 feet from our boat at one point. After the boat ride we took and easy walk through the rain forest to an overlook of Mendenhall Glacier with Jenny pointing out things of interest. Oh, and they also provide a nice snack. We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day in Juneau which just enhanced a great tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinook, Washington
1 review
“Whale Watching and Mendenhall Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a thank-you to our guide, Annie Mocie for having made this thip such a great experience. I learned a lot about my camera and how to get out of the comfort zone of automatic. The day we were out the humpback whales were bubble net feeding and she worked with each of the people in the group.
It was also a good day at the Mendenhall Glacier and she pointed out many interesting things to photograph.
This excursion was well worth the money spent. Thank- you Annie for a great day.
Darlene McR-Webster

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Small Photo Focused Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Smaller group which started with a easy nature walk through the rain forest, then on to see Mendenthall glacier, then whale watching. Weather was very wet but they provided good ponchos and towels to keep our cameras dry. Lots to see and take in. Their whale watching boats are excellent as hold only 12-14 and windows come in to allow for good photos.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastineau Guiding Company - Juneau's Premier Guiding Company also viewed

 

Been to Gastineau Guiding Company - Juneau's Premier Guiding Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastineau Guiding Company - Juneau's Premier Guiding Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.