We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish hatchery okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC

Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC
2697 Channel Dr., 3 miles from downtown, turn left at the first group of buildings on Egan Dr., Juneau, AK 99801
877-463-2486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 attractions in Juneau
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Specialty Museums, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Macaulay Salmon Hatchery Visitor’s Center offers a unique variety of attractions & a truly Alaskan experience! Get a birds-eye-view of our outdoor hatchery operations while a local guide shares with you the fascinating life cycle of an Alaskan salmon and the inner workings of the hatchery. During the months of May and June, you will have the opportunity to see juvenile salmon prior to their release. Adult salmon start returning the beginning of July and continue through October. Bald Eagles and seals frequent the hatchery and provide a fantastic wildlife viewing opportunity. Once inside, explore our salt water aquariums displaying over 150 species of marine life, including touch-tank aquariums where you will have the chance to physically interact with local sea animals. Venture through our gift-shop where we make it easy to ship wild Alaskan salmon anywhere in the United States. Wow your taste buds when you take the opportunity to taste a variety of salmon samples such as: king salmon dip, salmon caviar, salmon jerky, & canned salmon. A fun, affordable, & educational experience for the whole family!
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish hatchery okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We learned about the hatchery in about 5 minutes from a talk before entering the hatchery. If the salmon were actually running back, this would be fantastic to see how they sort them and all, but since we didn't visit at that time, there was not much to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rainy Day Activity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a rental car for the day in Juneau and decided to take a trip to the hatchery. It was raining and thought that it would be a good thing to do. They have a guided tour where you will learn a lot about salmon. Inside the building they have a huge tank set up with loads of fish. A great little gift shop where you can but salmon. They were also passing out free samples of their smoked salmon. Delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77379
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great learning experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Whether you like salmon or not, this hatchery is a great learning tool about the habits of the salmon. You will see the pools where the salmon are being imprinted in the water so they can return years later to die. There are also touch tanks as well as aquariums and a great gift shop to buy fresh salmon! Highly recommend this tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau AK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good educational destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We take or send visitors here. The hatchery has huge, wonderful tanks of local fishes, invertebrates, and plants. The tour provides an education and great viewing of salmon, especially when fish are in the ladder.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Crikey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I thought this would be a bit pathetic, but it wasn't. I simple couldn't believe the number of fish threshing about!
All that mad energy to climb up the fish ladder into the holding pens, and for what? To get clobbered over the head and gutted. The power and exertions of the salmon has to be seen. It was like something from a horror film. A good trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC also viewed

 

Been to Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macaulay Salmon Hatchery/DIPAC to your Saves list