We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Lines - had to wait and wait and wait” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Roberts Tramway

Mount Roberts Tramway
490 South Franklin St, At the Waterfront at the Cruise-Ship Dock, Juneau, AK 99801
907 463 3412
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Roberts Tramway like an insider
Top Rated
$125*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Mendenhall Glacier...
Ranked #11 of 59 things to do in Juneau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A six-minute ride up a 1,670-foot mountain slope.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Long Lines - had to wait and wait and wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The view from the top was beautiful - but the lines and crowd were not fun. I felt a bit like I got to the top and was forced to visit their gift shop. Stuff was stacked in the window areas, so it was hard to look out, much less take pictures. Getting down, we were herded in line and herded into the tram cars. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't do it again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    288
    132
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

great view, good trails to visit , but you need to be fit, expensive for what you get, food at the top is average, so eat before you go

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“bit expensive, but more to see than just the shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I rode up the tram twice during our afternoon in Juneau. The ride and views are of course amazing. Shopping and eating are as everywhere else, nothing truly unique to buy at the top. But, they do have a coffee bar that people were swarming and a funny photo place that can make fake backgrounds like bears chasing you, etc. Now, once you leave the main area and walk around a bit, to the nature center with the giant eagle's nest and onto the trails above the tram station, then you are getting a good value. We hiked around up toward the cross and then circled back on the main trail. We saw a hoary marmot and heard a tremendous grouse that echoed through the forest. We had great views both of the forest and out over the water--and we got away from the crowds. I think if I hadn't done this, I would have been unimpressed with the tram price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quick easy way up to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

32dollars return to get up to the top is well worth it ...great cable car attendants full of interesting information.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The cost of the ride ($30) seems high for a tram ride of five minutes each way. But the view is breathtaking, and there is hiking around the top of the mountain.
The ride is run by the local native tribe, so the money goes to them. There may be a chance to also see Lady Baltimore, a bald eagle they are caring for while you take the ride.
You also have the chance to hike up and/or down, but it is not something you should do unless you are an experienced hiker.
The views of Juneau and the water are fantastic, and worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Roberts Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Mount Roberts Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Roberts Tramway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.